It’s been a while…

Hello folks. It’s been a while! I seem to be back. A year or so ago another website started streaming my content. Goodness knows why. But I really didn’t like seeing photographs I’d taken around my home appearing on another website – it was a very odd experience. I’ll have to take some sort of action if it happens again but for now…well…I’ve missed being here.

A few weeks ago, in a fit of nostalgia, I started looking back over old entries. It was like reading something that someone else had written! We forget so many things in such a short space of time. And it was lovely seeing the things that are recorded here. It’s obviously only a very narrow snapshot of our lives but so much better than any other record that I’ve ever managed to keep before. So many things I can barely remember! Like cooking on a Saturday morning, going to the library and then having a read or a nap before going out in the evening. Two kids later and I can’t even begin to imagine doing that! But there it is, preserved in time! What a strange and unique gift.

The fear that has stopped me blogging more than once in the past has been the loss of anonymity (and I have had one person in ‘real life’ who has not respected that). But. Sod them, eh?

I’ve been keeping close records this year and my mission for 2016 has been to record my spending for an entire year so at the end I know how much we’ve actually spent on everything from food to kids clothes and parties! I’ll share my spending reports sometime soon. I’m also starting to feel ready to get really serious about saving. In the past I’ve done well at saving for really specific things (like maternity leave or a holiday) but now it really is time to think about building a big safety net for the future. Years of being on lower incomes, two rounds of maternity leave and Husband’s move to self employment have used up our reserves and put us more or less in a hand to mouth situation. This is okay really because we’ve navigated what I always perceived would be our roughest financial waters: completing our family, moving to our ‘forever’ home and Husband breaking free from a job that was almost literally breaking his back. Importantly, we’ve done this without getting into debt and have managed to live within our means even during the leanest of times. So here were. Dusting ourselves down and ready to go. It’s good to be back.

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “It’s been a while…

  1. Hi! And welcome back. Lovely to see you again. I shall look forward to reading your posts again.

  2. shoestringalley

    Hi Deborah! Thanks for the lovely message! x

  3. Kate

    Go for it! Not many can say that they’re debt free and it is such a good thing.
    I look forward to being inspired!

    • shoestringalley

      Thanks Kate – we’ll see if I can live up to it lol! I do have the mortgage but I don’t really count that as debt as we’d just be paying the same, if not more, in rent 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

