Pantry planning

In preparation for the end of January (the month of birthdays!) I’m trying to get organised so I can really get a handle on our food budget. In many ways I feel like I really need to get back to basics. In my view, this is knowing what you’ve already got before you take any other action or make any plans. I’ve fallen into the trap of thinking that I’ve got a fairly good idea of what we’ve got and then either a) running out of things or b) buying things we’ve already got. This weekend 8 gave our pantry a good sort out. This might not look that organised but it is a huge improvement on the messy shelves, wrappers etc that were strewn everywhere before! I’ve written a list of everything in the pantry and another showing everything in the freezers and taped them to the wall of the pantry. This means I can see at a glance what I’ve got and the foundations of any meals we might have. Since doing this I’ve done a food shop and added to the list. I envisage giving the pantry and freezers a good tidy once a month and writing out fresh lists each time. That way I can scribble things out and add things on through the month and have a much better idea of what we already have. It should also mean everything gets used up without going to waste!image

image

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

