Organising my skin and hair care stores

I had been waiting until I’d lost all of the weight until I gave our big, built in wardrobes a big sort out and spring clean. It was going to be a sort of treat to myself. However, this last stone or so seem keen to hang around so I thought I’d tackle just the bits where I keep all of my skin care things. One of my New Years Resolutions was to take better care of myself which I’ve found slightly tricky as I now have this dermatitis thing going on with my face. So I actually feel like I’m taking less care of myself than usual – no exfoliators, no weekly face mask, no lovely face oil – argh! Not to be beaten, I decided to have a good sort through of my skin care hoards to see what treats I can still use and to also get things a little more organised. The photos are a bit dark but these are the two integral shelves where I keep my day to day skin and hair products (and also my wash bag for when we go away (ha!) and my sewing basket) and hair dryer and straighteners etc. It doesn’t look like much but I was so excited to have somewhere out of sight to keep all of this stuff when we moved to this house. It’s very easy to access and when I run out of deoderant, cotton wool pads, shower gel, toner or whatever then I can put my hands on a new one straight away. I still use the No 7 vouchers to stock up on face wash, toner and eye make-up remover.

image

 

 

image

 

The baskets (above) are kept on the top shelf and are where I keep other things like new toothbrushes, toothpaste, shampoos, conditioners, body lotions etc either from gift sets or BOGOFs. They are the same ones I was using when I started this blog and lived on top of the wardrobe in our previous home! This post may make it sound like I spend huge amounts of money on skin care products but I very rarely purchase anything at all. I quite often get things as gifts and everything else I buy on offer. I hardly ever seem to have to buy anything at all – usually 2 or 3 times a year. I think this is probably because I usually have a good idea of what I’ve already got in ‘stock’. I’ve actually just bought a few new things in the 70% off sale in Boots which I’ll do a separate post on.

It’s lovely to feel organised (see resolution 12) and to have found some things I can still use for a bit of pampering (see resolution 3)!

Categories: Budget beauty, Getting organised | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Organising my skin and hair care stores

  1. It’s a great idea to do this, and like you I found all sorts of ‘stuff’ I’d forgotten was there. Embarrasing really. Enough to last for ages.

    Another (frugal) tip I picked up from a blog or two was to cut off the top half of plastic containers that seemed to be empty, to be able to use up what usually turns out to be loads of stuff left behind. You can use the bit you’ve cut off as a kind of ‘lid’ for the lower half, if that makes any sense.

    • shoestringalley

      Cutting things open is a good tip. I haven’t done that in ages! Must remember for next time. I am currently using the last scrapings of lip colour at the moment. It never looks as good right at the end (Max Factor Lipfinity) but it’s only for the school run and I am determined to use every last bit. I’ll probably crack open the new one in time for our night out lol!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

