Days 7, 8, 9 & 10:

It’s been hard to find time to post in between looking after a baby, a 3 year old and myself all down with another revolting cold. Pre-school is breeding ground for every kind of germ going! lack of posts aside, here’s four things for the challenge from the last four days:

Planning to spend: One of my goals/ plans for March was to have zero personal spending. I’ve already slipped up but, at £2.92, the world hasn’t ended as yet. other than that I’ve been really good at not spending anything and having set it out as a goal it has been a good reminder to just wait sometimes. I decided to start a list of the things I want to spend on and to have a shopping/spending day on the 1st of April. I’ve already decided I didn’t need one of the things on my list and the book I wanted is now not available until the end of April anyway. My list now only has one thing on it – the heat protector I use on my hair which has almost run out. I’d also quite like a new book for my Kindle as this is perfect for keeping my eyes open during night feeds! The list will also probably include something relating to the next on my list which is….

Wearing rags: Ok, I’m not exactly wearing rags but…very few things fit me at the moment. And I mean very few. I’m not mentioning sizes here because it is very easy to cause offence and that’s not what this blog is about. Pre-pregnancy number one I was pretty happy with my size. Half a stone less would always have been welcome but I was really quite happy with where I was at! by the time I found out I was pregnant a second time I was a stone heavier than the start of my first pregnancy and dress size larger. I’m not back into even the larger of the two sizes yet, but the maternity stuff looks all wrong. It is tempting – very tempting – to go out and buy some things in a larger size still, just to have more things to wear and not the worn out stuff I’m throwing on every day. HOWEVER, the weight is coming off at around 1 to 2 pounds a week and it seems daft to spend money on clothes when – hopefully! – they won’t fit in a month or so. Plus I think it would also make it easy to just stay at this size. My entire wardrobe consists of two pairs of stretchy black trousers, 1 T-shirt, one long sleeved black top, a black jumper and a few cardigans. Oh, and a purple jumper from ‘before’ that is ok for around the house but not for public viewing! I am soooo tempted to buy something new just to break up the monotony. I saw a pinkish jumper in a tesco for £8 and so nearly bought one. It has gone now – typical. Anyway, the road to my previous size is still going to be a fairly long one so I’ve decided that I am going to give myself a £20 budget to buy a couple of cheapy bits on the 1st of April when I should have lost a bit more weight. I am on track to lose the 8 pounds I set for my March goal so I’ll try on a few sizes and see what fits best. 

More budget eating!: And, yes, more recipes from A Girl Called Jack. I made the peach and chickpea curry which was so good it was worth buying the book just for that recipe! And I don’t even like curry! Husband and I don’t like any hot or spicy food at all though we both wish we did because we know we’re missing out on so many dishes. It’s a round peg, square hole situation. I just left out the chilli though and the curry was still really tasty with just the cumin and coriander (I used dried instead of fresh). Plus I made the peanut butter and jam thumbprint cookies again. Nom nom. Whenever I’ve bought recipe books in the past I always envisage myself cooking the whole book. What actually happens is that I find one or two recipes I like and then the rest require too much faffing or daft ingredients. This is the first recipe book I’ve bought where I really think I might cook the whole thing. PLUS I trust Jack Monroe enough that I’ll have a go at cooking and eating outside of my comfort zone. I can’t imagine anyone reading hasn’t heard of her but just in case you haven’t, read more from Jack at http://www.agirlcalledjack.com

And lastly:

Making a two week meal plan and cutting down on deliveries: I am finally, FINALLY getting over my post op infection so I’m going to cut back from having the food delivered every week to every other week. I should be able to manage the bags from a smaller shop on the weeks in between (our parking space and garage is up the road from our house, not on the property itself so while it is great that I have a car it is still a bit of a faff, especially with two kiddos). I decided to make a meal plan (main meals only) for two weeks so I could buy all of the meat and fish ( for the freezer) and store cupboard stuff (from tinned goods to loo roll) in one go. Theoretically I will only need to buy fresh bits to supplement what I’ve already bought. This should save around £10 in delivery fees over the next month. I’ll post more about the menu plans another day.

So that’s me all up to date. My girl is at pre-school all day today and baby is napping so I’m going to make myself a hot honey and lemon and curl up with my kindle book about the Mitfords who I find endlessly fascinating. Happy Thursday everyone!

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Days 7, 8, 9 & 10:

  1. Well this is wonderful… I first checked out your Blog when you started in 2009 and I read it for the first year, I found you so committed and interesting, and as I was just starting my budgetting journey the timing was great! Then I went off track a bit, life took over, and Blogs took a bag seat. Until today…

    Today I started to look up some Blogs and purely by accident found yours again, And you’ve had two babies! Last time I checked you were pregnant with your first! I’ve just loved catching up on your news, and when I saw your Faraway Tree book I just knew I had to comment. My favourite book ever!

    I just wanted to comment to let you know that I love your Blog, I think your commitment is inspiring, and now that I’m back on track, with my own Blog, I’ll be checking in every week.

    Wendy x

    • shoestringalley

      Oh what a lovely comment to leave – thank you very much! Will visit your blog soon…been a bit tied up as you will see!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

