News

Wow. Talk about taking a break. It’s been a long time – again. I’ve been waiting to be able to share the news that in the New Year we are having a baby! It felt very weird not mentioning this enormous, life changing, budget altering event and I just couldn’t write a post without spilling. Hence no posts. It has actually been a stressful time lately as we trotted off for the 12 week scan and then got a phone call a day later to say that we were high risk for Down Syndrome. I didn’t get particularly special results when I was pregnant with my daughter and knew I couldn’t manage another whole pregnancy waiting and not knowing. Hooray for savings is all I can say. We spent £400 on a Harmony blood test at the very wonderful Foetal Medicine Centre in London which is A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. I hope that this test is eventually available on the NHS – at least for people like myself who have had a high risk result. Thank God we had an emergency fund as we also had a fantastic early anomaly scan while we were there and had to to pay for train tickets etc. Best money I have ever, ever spent. As you can probably gather we’ve had good results. In case you’re not in the know, the Harmony blood test looks the DNA of your baby which is travelling in your blood stream. It is extremely accurate, second only to a CVS or an amnio (which are diagnostic tests rather than screening).

Anyway. It’s all been about that for some time now. I’m trying to take in the good news and take a breath but just wanted to say hi and I’ll be back soon!

Categories: Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “News

  1. Congratulations. Glad to hear all is well. x

  2. Great news. Congratulations.

  3. Yay! I *knew* it would be a baby as soon as I saw ‘news’ 🙂 Congratulations!

  4. Alison B43

    Fantastic news. Like Mke do Mum I suspected this was on the cards, but really nice to know that your absence has been for positive reasons. We look forward to regular posts again, and as you say, how great that your financial planning has enabled you to do so much over the last few months.

  5. Vicki

    Congratulations!Have missed you. X

  6. Congratulations!

  7. thefrenchchick

    Wonderful news! Congratulations! Glad you were able to get your concerns out of the way early.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

