The great (safe?) outdoors

Isn’t the weather AWFUL? When I got home today (for the second time) I declared that I am not leaving the house again until I have to go to work on Monday morning. I might have to go back on that though, since I really fancied getting some proper DIY popcorn this weekend! And I might nip down to the local carpet shop to eye up what they’ve got for our bedroom. But you get my point!

I’ve been talking to a couple of different people this week about how safe you feel when you go out and about. Before I was a parent I’d walk almost anywhere by myself. There are a few spots in our locality where I’d have felt a bit too isolated but generally I was happy to bod off by myself for a walk. Now I’ve got my daughter I’ve become really aware of how vulnerable we are when it is just the two of us. It is quite frustrating to live in a place where we are surrounded by countryside (free to roam in!) and yet not to feel safe enough to go out in it! Husband only has one or one and  a half days off a week, the weather is usually ropey and he doesn’t always want to go walking. I just don’t feel safe enough to go on many local walks apart from going around town and along the seafront. Sad isn’t it? It’s blinkin’ hard trying to run when you are carrying a toddler. We wouldn’t stand a chance if something happened. A friend of mine realised this when she was in a park with her two kids and couldn’t tell if a man was following them or not. She was grateful when it started to rain so she had a ‘legitimate’ reason to grab the kids and run to the car.

I didn’t really want to write a negative post but I wanted to explain why I was so pleased about something I got to sign up for today. In a few weeks time we are going on a – free! – Explorers walk for pre-school aged children. This is perfect as there will be lots of other children, a few activities and we’ll be able to have fun in a nearby nature reserve in a big, safe group. Brilliant! I’ve been trying to think up some things we can get lined up to look forward to  – all on a budget of course. I find it very easy to get stuck in a rut of being at home all the time. Particularly now I love home so much. But it isn’t good to do the same things in the same way all the time and I really belive that you should try to give young children as many different experiences as you can as I think it makes them more adaptable and ‘open’. And less scared of new things. And it’s fun! So that’s one thing at least that can go on the calendar for next month. Now to find/think up a few more things…

Categories: Parenting | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The great (safe?) outdoors

  1. Linda

    There are lots of ways to be safer. Going in a group is one -hopefully you can link with likeminded local parents and sort out your own small group adventures. Two adults with children are far safer than one. You could have or borrow a dog that needs walking. You could make a point of photographing things e.g. the man at the park, and pxt (picture txt/sms) to husband if you really feel unsafe. Seeing that happen could put a potential perpetrater off. Being seen and known around your area is also helpful for feeling safer. Good luck!!

  2. shoestringalley

    Funny you should say that – I sneakily photographed someone behaving oddly at a cashpoint last year! Yes, perhaps I ought to see if any of the other Mum’s fancy a ramble somewhere. I suspect I will get more interest if I wait until the weather is a bit better!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

