Time to say goodbye…?

Sadly, it looks likely that Shoestring Alley will be closing soon. I’ve had a potential security breech type situation rumbling on for a while and I’m finding it a bit prohibitive. As in, I don’t feel comfortable about writing things on here in the way that I used to, hence the declining number of posts over the last few months. I know there are plenty of bloggers out there who are quite open about who they are and where they are which is great. I, however, am not one of them. For a start, I am contractually obliged not to discuss certain things online which is one of the reasons that I take care not to reveal who I am, where I work, what I do, how much I earn and so on. Secondly, there are people out there who I would rather not know that many details about my home/personal life. Thirdly, I don’t think it is a good idea to talk about personal stuff online and make it easy for weirdos to track you down. During the last couple of years I have been asked to take part in interviews for a few national publications and also a TV series about budgeting. I found this enormously flattering but declined every single one because I didn’t want to give anything away…

When I first started this blog I told a very small handful of people about it and, in a fit of misguided enthusiasm, told a person that I knew – instantly – that I shouldn’t have. I don’t think this person would even remember the website name but I really don’t want to take the risk anymore…they have become troublesome, to say the least. Although I made it clear that this blog was private they have, more than once, referred to it in a group setting and and sat smirking at me to see how I would react/get out of it. Like I say, I doubt that they can even remember the name of the blog but I don’t want to take the chance any more.

Writing this blog has been a fantastic experience. I’ve ‘met’ some fantastic bloggers and have been so thrilled to hear from every one that has been kind and interested enough to leave a comment. It has also proved to be the learning and motivational tool that I needed it to be – I really know what I’m doing with my finances now, I live comfortably on less than half the income I had when I started this and I’ve got plenty of resources to fall back on should I need to.

I think that, once the house move has happened, I shall start blogging again but with a different blog. After all, there are going to be plenty of budgetary challenges to grapple with while we try to renovate an entire house with a monthly budget of about £100! However, even though we’ve got less money than ever, I don’t know if I’m really frugal enough to be in the ‘frugal’ ranks. I like a few luxuries here and there, and sometimes £5, £20 or £50 spent here and there is worth more to me than it would in the bank! So as for the exact nature of the new blog I can’t say. However, if you would like to read whatever I start next I’ll be happy to let you know. Email me on: shoestringalley@yahoo.co.uk or leave a comment including your email address. When I’ve started the blog I’ll drop you a line to let you know. I don’t think the blog/security problem will be an issue for a few weeks so I’ll leave this post (and the rest of the blog) up for a few weeks and then it will be closed.

Thank you so much to everyone that has stopped by here – it’s been amazing. xxxx

Categories: Uncategorized | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Time to say goodbye…?

  1. Oh no! I know where you are coming from, a few of my friends know about my blog but as much as I try to keep it anonymous I get paranoid that other people I know have stumbled across it. Do drop me an email when you set up your new blog… yours was one of the blogs that inspired me to start my own you know! Hope the house move goes smoothly, how exciting x

  2. Such a shame but I understand I have recently started blogging and I haven’t really told many people because of security, anonymity and freedom. Really hope your house move goes well, this time last year we got the offer on our house and we finally moved in to our new house 3 days before Christmas. The stress will be worth it.
    Let me know if you start a new blog x

  3. Bexley Heath Towers

    All the very best – good luck with the moving, settling in and ongoing home development. You come across as a very thoughtful, creative and talented woman and I’ve loved reading your blog. Would really like to know how you get on in the future so count me in if you start blogging again. Enjoy!

  4. Sorry to hear that you’ll be leaving. It’s been nice reading about your experiences. I guess there’s no insurance for total anonymity when you do anything online. I hope your next blog is more secure for you. Your insights lead to changes for your readers! Don’t give up!

  5. Take care! I totally understand. Let me know if you start another blog 🙂

  6. Sorry to hear you’re leaving! Good Luck with everything and think thrifty! – megimoo-rocks@hotmail.com

  7. thefrenchchick

    Sorry to hear that you’ll be leaving this blog. You know where to find me and I’d love to read the next one too. Best of luck with the move.

  8. I’m so sorry you’ve had to do this – I enjoy reading your blog, but I know what you mean about feeling wary about ‘real life’ and ‘blog life’ meeting.

    Jo

  9. Goodness – only just caught up with this after a long blogging break myself. Sorry to hear this – completely understandable decision. Hope you continue somewhere else….please let me know x

  10. I always enjoyed reading your blog and it has inspired me to start my own “shoestring project”. I would love to read your next blog too. starfishcopywriting@hotmail.com

  11. Only just found your blog and have really enjoyed reading it.. Please let me know when you start your new one..

  12. Its a great shame, I have only just come across your blog. I liked what I have read and would like a chance to read more.

    Take care.

  13. Sorry to see you go – please add me to the list of people to let know if you start up again!

  14. Would love to follow your new blog.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

