Good news!

I almost don’t want to say this lest I jinx the whole thing but…we’ve got a house! Our buy to let mortgage has been approved following the survey-valuation and we have had our offer accepted on a house!! YES YES YES!!!!!

The house is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. We never thought we’d get a place with so much space – not for at least another 10 years. It is so nice and has so much potential that, combined with the years of being stuck in our place and all of the stress it has caused, I am thrilled to have found a place that we won’t want to leave for years. Maybe ever. It is very close to my parents house, is only a few doors down from some friends of ours who have a little girl the same age as ours and is only a short walk from the primary school. It is perhaps a slightly longer walk into town from where we are now but a much better walk without the killer hill at the end. Perfick.

It needs to be almost completely redecorated and the kitchen is bonkers. We’re going to be knocking a wall down to create a kitchen-dining room and having a proper kitchen installed but that’s the biggest thing that needs doing. The garden is smaller than I would have liked (it is really small) but there is enough room to squeeze a table and chairs, enough lawn to chuck a blanket out and have a picnic and enough space to have some pots to grow some veg and herbs in. It is enough. The amount of space inside the house more than makes up for the small garden and, let’s face it, with the weather in this country, I’d take inside space over outside space anyday.

Obviously this might not all go through. It happens all the time and it has happened to plenty of people we know plenty of times. However, I’m optimistic. We’re not selling so the chain can’t break in that direction. The lady whose house we are buying is purchasing a house that has no onward chain. Our utterly fantastic financial advisor has worked miracles with our small earnings and has got all of our mortgages agreed, insurance policies in place and so on. We’re in as good a position to make it all happen as we could possibly be.

We’ve got a tonne of work to do here to get our apartment ready for rental and more paperwork than I know where to start with. However – things are happening! I will, in all probability, be able to put my Christmas decorations up in a new house! My daughter will be able to actually have a real bed! I can flush the loo in the evening! Or do some cooking! Or have people over! We will have space to have enough chairs for people to sit on! And throw kids parties with enough space to play! And grow veg! And do actual cartwheels in our giant living room! Enough exclamations!

Ok. I need to calm down now and finish doing my spreadsheets…

Categories: Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Good news!

  1. Linda

    Great News !!!!

  2. So pleased for you… it sounds wonderful…I am sure it will all be plain sailing now…keep us posted

  3. Congratulations!
    ( Don’t forget to breathe!)

  4. Zoe

    Congratulations, I’m glad everything is working out for your family

  5. Congratulations! I’m so pleased for you – I have everything crossed 🙂

  6. debbieinlondon

    Congratulations! I live in a tiny house (though not with a little one, mine was 12 when we moved here and is now 21), so I can appreciate the challenges! No storage, not enough room to seat more than three or four at a push… I am living vicariously through you until I manage to move 🙂

    • shoestringalley

      Ah bless you! I so know that feeling. We’ve been trying to move (on and off) for over 5 years and I had genuinely begun to think that it would never happen! Hope you get some luck soon x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

