Seasonal food for January

Since I’m continuing to focus on eating in season as much as possible I’ll be filling my shopping basket with:

  • apples
  • broccoli
  • brussels sprouts
  • carrots
  • cauliflower
  • leeks
  • onions
  • parsnips
  • pears
  • potatoes
  • pumpkins
  • swede
  • turnips

I say I’ll be filling my baskets with the above but, actually, I doubt there will be any turnip or pumpkin because I’ve never found them particularly inspiring. Or swede come to that! But the rest? Yum. As usual there will be plenty of soup making which should help counteract the disasterous effect that the festive season has had on my waist line!

Categories: Frugal food | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Seasonal food for January

  1. Hi Alley
    Have you tried http://www.5adaybox.co.uk/ for seasonal veg. I love my box as it makes me use more variety in my food.
    Lizzie

  2. i am not a fan of turnips on their own (except when it’s with livers, go figure!) but I don’t mind them mixed with mashed potatoes. I also mix my celery root with the potatoes, yum. It’s a bit of a change from the ordinary.

    Like you, pumpkin is not a fav…

    Happy New Year 🙂

  3. I love everything on your list! Turkey bacon, garlic, red wine and brussel sprouts – yummmyQ

  4. Ah soup will be good right now.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

