Winter reading

So, the long dark nights of autumn and winter are upon us. I’ve been contemplating how to spend the evenings…in a budget freindly manner of course! Earlier today I gathered together a load of books that I have, but haven’t read and cleared a whole shelf to put them on:

There are nearly 30 books so that ought to keep me going! Actually there are a couple of books on there that I’ve read before but want to read again (like Wuthering Heights because the one and only time I read it I found it both boring and funny for all the wrong reasons. It seems that this isn’t the general responce so I’ve long felt I should have another ‘go’ at it). All of these books have either been bought second-hand, at a discount or have been lent to me. One or two were free with magazines. None were bought at full price!

That should keep me going for a while. It also ought to wake my mind up a bit by making me read things I wouldn’t usually. If I really can’t get into them then I’ll give up and take them to the charity shop or return them to their owners. Some of these books have been knocking around the place for years! There’s a real mix of genres covering everything from classics to chick lit so there should be something to suit whatever mood I may be in when I’m on the hunt for a read! I’ll try to remember to do a post on each one as I go through them!

Categories: Book love, Shoestring Fun, Shoestring Reading | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Winter reading

  1. Lisa

    I am coming out of lurker mode to say I see you have One Hundred Years of Solitude on your shelf. Have you read it before? It is one of my all time favorite books along with A Fine Balance. 100 Years isn’t an easy read but so worth the effort. I’ve read it 4 times and hope to read it again this winter.

  2. shoestringalley

    Ooh, 100 Years suddenly sounds a lot more interesting! Will make sure to post when I’ve read it.

  3. I ran out books to read and our library’s been closed for refurb!! The horror!! Dashed down to Fopp and restocked – phew! Lisa must have eyes like a hawk cos I can’t make out any books on there apart from a Penny Vincenzi šŸ™‚

    • shoestringalley

      Nooooooo! My local library closed for a refurb last year. Fortunately they timed it for when I was in hospital having Baby which I thought was pretty decent of them šŸ™‚ . I’m currently reading ‘No and Me’ but I can’t say I’m particularly into it, hence bodding around here. Did you pick up any good reads?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

