Holiday packing, wellies and the end of the 7 week challenge

It’s been total bedlam at our house for the last couple of days as I’ve tried to juggle getting all of my ‘work’ work done as well as everything at home. You need almost as much stuff to go away for four days as you do a fortnight, particularly when you’ve got a little one! Baby and I spent three hours ironing, packing and sorting yesterday. She was very patient and even quite enjoyed helping to put things in bags. Even so, it looked like a bomb had gone off at the end of the day. There are things that we can’t pack until tonight and even more things we can’t pack until the morning. Argh! I wish I could just get it all done! I used to be able to clean my house from top to bottom before going on holiday. Now I’ll consider it a success if I manage to empty the bin and don’t leave any washing up in the sink!

So, in spite of the sheer amount of things left to do and the fact that the weather report is shocking for our weekend away I’m still really excited. It’s out first holiday with Baby and I can’t wait to see what she makes of it all. I also can’t wait for the change of scenery. I last went away two years ago next month (when I was 6 weeks pregnant). Because the weather forecast is rubbish I went and bought a pair of wellies today. I did have a pair but when it snowed last winter I realised I can’t get my feet all the way down in them so they were useless (maybe due to the weight gain?!). I don’t have any other outdoorsy footwear and since I live by the sea and am surrounded by countryside they are a bit of a must! While I was buying them I saw some very cheap yet sturdy looking hiking boots at £32.95. I might put some cash aside for a few months and invest in a pair – they’d definitely come in handy! Anyway, I’m very pleased to have a pair of wellies I can wear since autumn is approaching (plus they are pretty, cheery ones with butterflies!).

So, the 7 week challenge ended this week. How did I do? Okay. The house is not finished yet but we really did get a lot done. I won’t bore you with a giant list (I’ve covered most of it on this blog as we’ve gone along) but I’m pleased with the amount we achieved. I also feel like I am much more organised and on top of things again. When you are ‘running’ a house there will always be another 10 jobs on the ‘to do’ but 10 is better than 50! I’m on top of the washing and ironing, the paperwork, the food shopping, batch cooking and all the rest. I’m not one of those people that really enjoys the domestic hoopla of cooking and cleaning but I do get a lot of satisfaction out of seeing everything done. I also find I can get away with spending a lot less time doing it all if I’m on top of it which is a good thing in my book! As for losing the last of the baby weight…disasterous. Not only did I not lose the weight but I actually managed to pile a few pounds on! I had just over half a stone to go and now it is closer to a stone. I’m not going to buy any clothes in the next size up just yet. My clothes are, er, on the snug side at the moment. I’m actually hoping that my jeans pinching my thighs will remind me I probably don’t need more cake. Other than that, I’m done. I am not blogging about this again until at least next year unless it is to say that the pounds and inches have magically vanished!

And now it is time to continue with the packing…. 🙂

Categories: Getting organised | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Holiday packing, wellies and the end of the 7 week challenge

  1. Alison B43

    It is always difficult being organised with children – even one. I have found this when I have my grandaughter to stay; to start with I wondered how new mums got anything done!! Anyway, well done for what you HAVE achieved, there are always more things TO DO for all of us, I guess that’s what makes us focus forwards not back (well, some of us). Have a lovely holiday. (Even if it is raining, splashing in puddles with toddlers is great fun!) xx

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

