Food budget cock-up

I think the title of this post says it all! I haven’t kept my eye on our food budget this month and now I’ve got to get on top of it so we don’t go over. The first week was okay but I came unstuck last week because of a blinkin’ voucher. After the previous weeks shop, Co-op gave me a £5 off voucher if I spent £50 or more. I’m usually very wary about this kind of voucher as you can easily end up spending way more than you planned, even picking up things you don’t really need to make sure you have spent enough to get the discount. Not only did I do exactly this but I also spent £3 on a Co-op meal deal (sandwich, brownie and drink) to drop down to Husband at work as I forgot to make lunches the night before.

Annoyingly, I have done this on a ‘5 week’ food budget month – grrrr. I have spent £100 in two weeks so I now have £100 to last three weeks. Fortunately as part of my 7 week challenge I have been quite good about doing a weekly batch cook and thus I am going to live off the freezer and storecupboard as much as possible. I am hoping that I can get away with just buying fruit, veg, bread and milk when I do the shop at the end of the week. Oh, and loo roll!

Bizarrely, I bought a mini loaf of bread a few weeks ago and stuck it in the freezer (you know, one of those 400g ones so half the size of a conventional loaf). We ran out of normal sized bread last night but, rather than go out and spend more of the food budget on another loaf, I’ve taken the mini one out of the freezer. Husband is going to work with a variety of small sandwiches tomorrow!

Categories: Budgeting, Frugal food | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Food budget cock-up

  1. Maybe a few meatless meals, casseroles and curries, and risotto might make the remainder of your budget stretch that little bit further over the rest of the month.
    Sometimes I’ve got caught thinking I’m going to save some money on some cheap deal on food, and then it going bad before I’ve got to use it., so it ends up costing me for nothing. Grr…

  2. Thank god for freezers and batch cooking, that’s all I have to say!

    I haven’t done any meal planning/budgeting for months and I hate to think how much extra we’ve spent as a result 😦

    Hope Family Shoestring are all well!

    x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

