Wedding season: Part 2

Okay, how many people have had this exact reaction to getting a weding invitation (for a wedding they are actually going to go to): ‘Yay! Oh. What am I going to wear?’.

This is my reaction every time. I look horrible in dresses. Really. Skirts don’t look much better. Just once I would love to go to an event wearing a posh frock and looking good in it. Just once. Is it too much to ask? If I could find ones that fit me properly I would wear them all the time.

Anyway, as you’ll know from my last post, we’re off to a wedding soon and I’ve spent weeks contemplating the state of my wardrobe. My initial reaction was that I was going to get creative with what I already have because I’m trying not to spend money unnecessarily on clothes. Then I thought ‘Oh sod it, buy something new’. Then I looked at my bank account, laughed and then despaired. Finally I dug out my one frock, tried it on and, as before, it fitted like a charm. I got it either 4 or 5 years ago (I forget) from the Great Plains online sale (which is always amazing FYI). It cost me £12. It isn’t the latest cut or the current fashion but it does look about as good as anything is going to look on me at the moment. The only trouble was, I didn’t have shoes that would go with it or a cardigan which I would definitely need…

You might remember me mentioning being excited about being given a cardigan recently. This is because, not only is it very lovely and something I will enjoy wearing a lot, but it matches the dress exactly! Yippee. And phew. Which just left the matter of the shoes. I’ve been scouring the online sales and asking friends with the same size feet but no-one had a pair of brown or tan shoes with a decent size heel (but not too high or spindly as I will be carrying Baby) and with an ankle strap (the only kind that will stay on my feet). Nothing. Nada. And then last I went into a local New Look and found shoes that exactly fit this description, just one pair left and in my size. A miracle! And only £9. Just when I thought my day couldn’t get any better, I took them to the till only to be told that they had actually been further reduced and would only cost me £6!!

Having the new shoes and the new-to-me cardigan makes me feel like I actually have a whole new outfit and I’m really looking forward to wearing it. I’ll be teaming it with a Pilgrim necklace that I’ve had for a few years and so the only money I’ve had to shell out for my ‘new’ wedding outfit is £6. I am one seriously happy bunny…

Whilst we’re on the subject of dresses and sales and clothes shopping I must confess that I have actually ordered a new dress (it won’t come in time for the wedding but that’s fine). I’d been eyeing it up on the Great Plains website for a few months. It is a very, very plain, sleeveless black dress that could either be dressed up or down and is so plain it won’t date too quickly either. The LBD isn’t something I have in my wardrobe and I’ve been keeping an eye out for one for years. It may well not fit and unless I love it I will be sending it back. But I live in hope. When I first saw it, it was £66. I thought I’d wait and see if it got reduced when they had their sale. It did – to just over £30. Hmmm, I thought. And resisted. And then I checked back a couple of days ago and it was still available in my size for £16.50! I am trying not to get too excited about this as dresses rarely look right on me but this one would be so perfect for so many things if it does. I’ll report back…

Categories: Budget beauty, Shoestring Weddings | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Wedding season: Part 2

  1. I can never get a dress to fit, I’m too short!! Will we get to see a picture of the outfit?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

