A week off from the hectic pace!

Do you find that energy and motivation run in cycles? I do. Sometimes I am super motivated and other times I am the exact opposite. The latter is the case at the moment. This isn’t through lack of enthusiasm but sheer tiredness. Baby gets up early every day (and I mean early) and then we have the mad rush of trying to get us both washed, dressed and all the rest before we head out of the door. I usually get about three hours in the evening to do everything from getting lunches ready for the next day, tidying up, packing bags, having a shower and whatever else needs to be done. I like to try and make sure I do something chilled out like reading or watching a bit of telly or a DVD before going to bed, just to wind down so I can go to sleep otherwise my mind keeps whirring away. Add into this the fact that I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about the future and planning and I’m feeling pretty knackered! I don’t think the manky weather is helping much either…

I’ve decided to have the week off. Not a week off work, but a week off from as much stuff as I can drop. No feeling compelled to catch up with everyone, no batch cooking – in fact as little cooking as possible, no major planning, no funny little projects. As close to nothing as I can manage! I’m settling for a quick tidy up, including the washing up, in the evening (otherwise the mornings are a nightmare) and I’m raiding the freezer for the week so we can have home cooked meals with practically no effort and very little cleaning up.

I’m hoping this will mean I can get into the habit of having more sleep. Even when Baby sleeps well I tend to wake up during the night and can lay awake for up to two hours before I can get back to sleep again. Or sometimes Baby wakes up because she’s teething. One way or another I’ve been struggling along on about five hours sleep a night. I need to try and get six hours and then work my way up to seven. Seven hours, incidentally, seems like a luxurious concept. I can’t even get my head around the decadance of what eight would be like! So this week is my week ‘off’. Thus I am off to make a hot chocolate and read Forever Amber by Kathleen Winsor, which I ordered from the library ages ago and has just turned up…

Categories: Ramblings | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A week off from the hectic pace!

  1. I’d definitely agree with the cycles thing. I’m trying to accept it rather than feel bad about my unproductive slumps – because if I’m feeling bad or guilty about them, I neither do anything or enjoy not doing anything!

    Enjoy your week off!

    • shoestringalley

      Yes, you just have to go with it. And actually, having purposefully decided to leave everything be fpr a week I already feel better and like I can get back into the saddle next week!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

