Budget Beauty Regime

Regime sounds a bit grand doesn’t it? I don’t spend a lot of time on my skin these days, it has to be said. However, I do like to make sure I’ve cleansed, toned and moisturised. My skin tends to freak out (ie go spotty) if I a) don’t look after it properly and b) if it doesn’t like a new product. Plus I’ve got fine lines here and there. You’ve got to do what you can!

For the last year or two I’ve almost exclusively used No 7 products. The hot cloth and cleanser (a blatant but very good rip off of the Liz Earle ‘Cleanse and Polish’ which was one of the many products that provoked a skin freak out) is £8.75 but I stock up when the £5 vouchers are out which reduces the cost to £3.75. When the £5 vouchers are out I also stock up on toner (which gets reduced to £2) and eye make-up remover (which gets reduced to £2.75). Back in the day I used to spend a huge £40 on a Lancome moisturiser. I eventually managed to find a cheaper replacement (which was brilliant) from Loreal but they discontinued it. Grrr. Anyway, last year I started using the Protect and Perfect day cream. Even with the voucher it costs around £15 which is a lot. However, I’ve only just run out of my first jar and I started using it about 9 months ago so a little goes a very long way!

After reading about the Lacura range (by Aldi) over at Frugal Queen I decided to give it a go. So far, so good. I bought the eye cream (£3.49) and the beauty serum (£3.99). I also bought a pot of their £1.99 Q10 cream (you know, the one that had all of the beauty editors fooled). The only trouble with the Q10 is that is doesn’t have any SPF. Thus I have been using it at night time (when I clearly do not need UV protection) which should make my No 7 moisturiser (with SPF 15) last longer.

It can take a while of experimenting to find the ‘right’ products for your skin – invariably they discontinue the product or change the ingredients when you’ve just got used to it and then you have to go searching again! There are much cheaper products out there – in places like Boots and Superdrug I’ve seen face washes, cleansers and toners for around £1 each – sometimes even cheaper. I give other, cheaper products a go from time to time but so far the Lacura range is the only budget brand that has been okay on my skin. While it is great to be budget conscious, there is no point using a product on your skin that actually makes it look worse – that is a real waste of money! For now I’m doing really well with the products above. My skin is happy and the prices fit within my budget (provided I stock up when offers are on or vouchers are available)!

Categories: Budget beauty | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Budget Beauty Regime

  1. Hazel

    I’ve started using honey as a facewash. Sounds a bit bizarre, I know, but I read about it and figured I didn’t have anything to lose.
    Even good/organic/local honey is cheaper than a similar sized tub of cleanser. I have temperamental skin too; tendency to spots but still dry in places, and I thought the humectant tendency of the honey along with it’s antibacterial properties (widely and historically used to heal wounds) might actually help, and it seems to have done.

    I put it on and leave it as long as possible before rinsing off. It’s not the sticky mess you might think!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

