Use it!

Do you ever find yourself saving things up for no good reason? A nice notepad? A scarf? The ‘posh’ pasta you bought? I do this all the time but I’m trying to stop it. When you spend a lot of energy trying to declutter and simplify your home, hoarding things for ‘best’ seems somewhat counterproductive.

I guess we all hoard different things. I have a huge collection of notepads. It has been slowly going down since I started this blog as I very rarely buy one these days. However, as everyone knows I love stationery I tend to get given a lot (which I love!). I’m trying to make sure I actually use them rather than have a huge stash of notepads to be used for something important. The one in the photo was bought for me by my BF earlier this year. Rather than saving it I’ve been using it to write my weekly meal plans – it makes what is generally a dull job a lot nicer! Some years ago now we went to New York and I bought a gorgeous hardback notepad from the Guggenheim. It sat on the bookshelf unused for years because I always felt I should use it for something signifigant. Then I decided to just use it. When I started my ‘Declutter 10’ series I used it to list the 10 items I had managed to declutter that week. Now I’ve got it back out for my DIY 5 step programme to record what I manage to get done each week.

I also seem to have a huge stash of body lotion, comprised mainly from gift sets that I have been given over the years. I hardly ever use lotion. I think that by the end of a bath or shower I just can’t be bothered. But…it is just sat there, taking up space, not being used and my skin could probably use a bit of pampering. I’ve taken a tub of lotion out of the bathroom and brought it downstairs so I can actually see it. I don’t remember/ feel compelled to use it every day but once or twice a week I’ll slap a bit on while I’m reading or watching TV.

I’ll be trying to think of others things I’m hoarding for no good reason and get cracking on actually using them! After all, if the money has already been spent you might as well get some use out of it!

Categories: Make do | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Use it!

  1. it's me, Sam

    I was at a estate auction today, and I could have cried when i saw the piles of beautiful table linens that people had never used. They sat in drawers, waiting “for a good time” to use them and most of them were never touched. So sad… I’m using up the things i have, and no longer keep things for “later” on. Good post!

    • shoestringalley

      Did you pick up any of the linens? This is something I don’t even have. I suspect if I did they would live in a drawer most of the time too!

  2. Alison B43

    It is strange, isn’t it, but I am the same. With so many things we save them for ‘something special’. Amongst other things I am guilty of buying a lovely art deco notebook which has sat in my desk for at least a couple of years, and I have some lovely pens which I have been given as presents which I rarely used despite having an administrative job for most of my working life. With our recent downsize in property I have made a consious effort to use up rather than store many things (I had used up my ‘excess’ soaps about 5 years ago) but unfortunately my tiny kitchen still looks like a laboratory with all the glass jars full of dry ingredients – do I actually need 5 types of rice?????

    • shoestringalley

      I hope you decide to use your lovely notepad! I’m trying really hard to make sure I use all of mine though a couple are still lurking in anticipation of a special ‘project’!

  3. Alison B43

    p.s. I don’t regularly use body lotion either, but sometimes use it up as a hand cream.

  4. I wrote a post on this topic last December – and completely agree with you.

    In the past, I’d often saved things for best and never got around to using them. I make a much more conscious effort to use *things* now but I’m still guilty of the related idea I mention in my post — saving food until I really really want it (an example in point, the two lovely ginger & dark chocolate biscuits in a box on my desk – which have been waiting for a special time to be eaten for a few weeks now and may very well be soggy) or not finishing off craft projects unless I know they’ll be perfect. Definitely something I’m still working on correcting – it’s so wasteful 😦

    • shoestringalley

      You’ve been saving biscuits?! That is one thing I could never save up – I am WAY too greedy! I’m actually impressed by your restraint on this one!! I have no willpower in some areas…

  5. Maria

    I’m very late joining the comments party, but I completely agree with you! and am guilty of hoarding very similar things, namely stationary (notebooks) and body lotion which I’ve bought / been given as gift. Also sometimes clothes, which is really silly if you think about it – buy it and save it for best. Well… maybe don’t do gardening in it, but if you save it forever you might never wear it!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

