Eating crumbs (in a good way!)

A few days ago Husband bought a loaf of fresh bread which we didn’t manage to finish. What was left went dry pretty quickly so I got out the food processor, whizzed it up and made breadcrumbs. I put a third of them in the freezer. To the remaining crumbs I added cheese, oats and herbs which I used to make a savoury crumble, based loosely on a great recipe over at Frugal Queen (see my blogroll for the link). I only needed half of the savoury crumble mixture so I froze the rest. I made two crumbles, had one for dinner and put the other in the freezer.

I’ve been pretty good at getting homemade stuff in the freezer over the last week or so. This should be handy for the days I’m in the office and don’t want to have to come home and cook. Minimal effort and minimal washing up are the order of the day!

I think I mentioned the other day that I’m trying to use up a lot of what we have in the cupboard – firstly to hold of spending any more than I have and, secondly, so I can sort of start over with my storecupboard. Anyway, I found a small tin of sweetcorn that needed to be used by this month. I get into this ridiculous mindset of keeping things ‘just in case’ when I really I should be using them. I mixed the tin of sweetcorn with some tuna and mayo. Husband and Baby have had this in their sandwiches for lunch today and I am having it with salad. Glad I found it in time!

Categories: Frugal food, Home Economics | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Eating crumbs (in a good way!)

  1. My stale bread gets whizzed into bread crumbs and frozen too!

    I use it for mixing with grated cheese to add a crunchy cheesy topping to various bake; mix it with chopped nuts and other stuff to make quick nut roast; and with mashed kidney beans and chillis to make burgers

    • shoestringalley

      Yes, I mixed mine with grated cheese too (I got the idea from ‘Frugal Queen’) amongst other bits and bobs. I was really, really pleased with the results and will be doing it again. Love the burger idea!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

