Orla Kiely, scraping pennies and back to work

Did you know Tesco are currently selling Orla Kiely bags for £4? I read about it over at Whoops-A-Daisy but didn’t think I’d be able to get my hands on one (they are only available at selected stores), thus I was very excited to see them in my local branch a couple of weeks ago. In fact, it was all I could do to restrain myself from grabbing unsuspecting fellow customers by the collar and frog marching them down the aisle shouting ‘Look! Look!!’. Did I mention before that I like bags?

Of course that was when I had £4 to spare. Remember the other day I said I only had £2.95 in my wallet? It’s gone. I bought a loaf of bread (it should have come out of the food budget but it wasn’t worth getting my debit card out over) and a couple of packets of BOGOF biscuits on my first day back in the office. I even raided my 20p piggy bank earlier so I could go out for tea and teacakes with one of my mum chums. I might need to take some money out of one of our accounts as I’m pretty sure that I don’t have enough petrol to last until pay day and I need to get to work. I’ve got two weeks to wait and just the contents of my piggy bank (probably about £2 now) to see me through. Interesting times ahead!

And, yes, I am back at work. It is weird. I caught sight of myself in a mirror, fully ‘made-up’, straightened hair, suit, heels, polished nails and proper jewellery and thought…who the bloody hell are you?! Baby is currently getting up at around 5.30am. I need to be up by 6.30am to get us both ready for the day and out the door by 8am (I’ll probably get quicker as I do it more often). I had my first day working from ‘home’ (actually not working from my home but that of my parents) today. It is going to take a couple of weeks before it all settles down and we get a decent routine on the go. I didn’t manage to get finished up until 2pm and then felt all twitchy and restless because I was still in work mode and had that feeling you get when you think you ought to be doing something but can’t tell what it is. Hence I called up a mum chum and ventured out on the aformentioned tea/teacake run just to try and draw a line in my head between work time and non-work time. It’s all a bit fuzzy at the moment but I am sure it will fall into place soon enough. As for having to leave Baby behind to go to the office…gah. I hate it. Nothing to do with work or colleagues or the job. I just hate not being with her. My strategy for dealing with it is to get my head down and work like a lunatic so I don’t have chance to think about it.

And that’s it for now. No working tomorrow but no money either! I lie. There’s probably about 16p change left in my wallet. How much does a Wham bar cost these days?

Categories: Ramblings | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Orla Kiely, scraping pennies and back to work

  1. Cute bag!

    I can only imagine going back to work after the length of maternity leave you’ve had. I did it after 10 weeks, and even that felt weird. I remember sitting on my couch at 6:30 am, all dressed up in my work clothes while filling the baby up with a bottle one last time before heading out the door. It felt so bizarre. But it gets easier, really it does.

    Good luck as you make your adjustments.

  2. How much does a Wham bar cost these days?

    20p. I had one on Saturday night and documented the extravagance in my spending diary 😉

    Space Raiders also cost 20p a bag now (or at least they do at the garage near us) – I couldn’t afford to be a kid today 😉

    I’m sure you’ll settle into your groove soon – hope it’s not too tough in the meantime.

    • Laura

      @louisa What?? space raiders are 20p. Are Freddo’s 20p too?

  3. Laura

    So far I’ve resisted these bags, although Orla Kiely is my non frugal weakness!

    I hope that you find a routine soon..and that it gets easier x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

