Day 1 of the 17 day challenge

Why 17 days? Because that will take me up to the day before the long Bank Holiday weekend, after which I will be – gulp – going back to work. There’s a lot of stuff I need to get done before I head back, some of which is quite hard to define but here’s an overview of what I’m going to be tackling:

  • House: I doubt very much the house will be ready to go on the market as early as planned. Boo. Even so, I’m going to get as much done as I can. I also need a bit of a sort out so things can run smoothly when I have even less time than I do now!
  • Clothes: I need to get suited, booted and work-ready. I had originally planned to pick up a few bits and pieces but funds are a bit tight so I need to sort through my old stuff and see what I can cobble together. I also needed to sort out my nails (fingers and toes) and my eyebrows. The beast of Bodmin look will have to go.
  • Routine: I think this will have to develop a bit more slowly but I’m going to have to adapt the way I’m doing things now. I’d like to still be able to give Baby her breakfast before I go to work so everyhting is going to have to happen a bit earlier and in a different order.
  • Finances: From next month I will have a regular income again. I won’t know what my take home pay will be until the middle of next month but I need to get everything in order and can finalise plans and budgets then.
  • Other stuff: There are other things that need to be done that don’t have a category of their own – a few presents that need to be bought, the car needs to be fixed, I need to speak to the plumber etc. They need to get sorted before I get back to work.
  • Diet: I want to shift as many of the last few pounds as I can. I went a little, er, off track during the last week (I blame Husband being at home. He buys treats).

I’m going to try to do at least one thing a day towards the above. And here’s my ‘thing’ for the day:

Since the majority of the painting has been done in the bathroom I have finally been able to put up the new shower curtain (excuse the crap photo – I’m having to use my camera phone these days). I’ve also started sorting through my collection of work shoes and have thrown three really tatty pairs away. Not a bad start! I’ll try and post every day for the whole 17 days so I’ll be back tomorrow…

Categories: Getting organised, Home Economics | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 1 of the 17 day challenge

  1. ah – good idea. though I obviously am late to before the bank holiday deadline. and nor do I have a ‘go back to work’ thing looming. But there is stuff dangling around that needs dealing with. am losing track. and now my blog is broken too….. what will I do? paper lists? what?!!

  2. shoestringalley

    Gah, that is exactly how I’d been feeling prior to the challenge. Still not entirely on top of it but am at least getting some of the annoying things done. What has happened to your blog?!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

