The weekly shop and a free lipstick

Still managing to stay on budget fairly well. We went to have lunch with friends yesterday (massive Sunday Roast – nice). Had to nip into a shop to buy a gift and a card for a birthday and my monthly LoveFilm fee left my bank account – both came to exactly £13.27. Weird!

I did the food shopping today which came in at £38.83. I was quite pleased with this as I picked up some extra things that were on offer (such as a reduced tuna steak that needs to be used by tomorrow. I’ve bunged it in the freezer). I’ll probably need to get a few things later in the week (I forgot to pick up loo roll, grrr) but the bulk of it is done. The meal planning went much better last week so I’m hoping I manage to stick to the plan this week too. At the moment I’m doing the meal plan and shop on a Monday (for meals for Monday to Friday) and then picking up extra food late in the week to be used over the weekend when we know what our plans are. This seems to be working out pretty well. I’ve made a batch of diet friendly leek soup which should be my lunches taken care of for a few days. Clearly more attention needs to be paid. I weighed myself this morning only to discover that I’ve put on half a pound! 

I also stopped in at Boots today as I realised my Max Factor Lipfinity has almost run out. Luckily I had a voucher for £1 off so I used that along with my Advantage card points and got it for free! I like free…

Categories: Budget beauty, Frugal food | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The weekly shop and a free lipstick

  1. I did the food shopping today which came in at £38.83. I was quite pleased with this

    Were you pleased with it because it was lower than you thought? Or because it was palindromic? Because if it was me, I think it would be both 😉

  2. shoestringalley

    Ha – yes, both! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

