Blue Monday

This year January 24th will be Blue Monday – officially the most depressing day of the year. This date, according to various sources, has been calculated by taking into account the weather, levels of debt, the time elapsed since Christmas, the failure of New Years resolutions and generally feeling unmotivated. Cheery concept isn’t it? And yet…

…I suspect there is a grain of truth in it. I don’t think I’m alone in having a fit of the blahs. It’s dark, it’s miserable, everyone is skint after Christmas and sunny summer days feel like a long, long way away. So, yes, the weather is a bit of a bummer at the moment. Levels of debt? Well I’m not in debt but I have to say my spending has been appalling so far this month. I know exactly what it’s all about – my maternity allowance is about to run out and this mad little voice in my head keeps saying ‘Get it while you can!’. I’ve bought all sorts – muffin tins and cases, a silk scarf (in the sale I hasten to add), a bizarre collection of food that I am sure is quite unnecessary and a host of other things too innumerable so mention. It’s okay though. I’ve got my finances in order for February to April (more on that another time) so this phase will come to an end very soon!

What’s else on the list? Time elapsed since Christmas? It does seem like a long time ago. In some respects I kind of feel like it passed me by this year.

This just leaves the failure of New Years Resolutions and generally feeling unmotivated. How is everyone doing on their New Years Resolutions and 2011 goals by the way? I’m doing okay so far, except on the weight loss front. In fact, my goal is going in reverse because I’ve been baking up a storm and, as a consequence, put on two pounds. Rubbish. However, we’re only halfway through the month so I’m not throwing in the towel just yet.

In summary? Yes, I could be teetering on the edge of a Type-A Blue Monday. I’d best some plans for this, the most miserable day of the year, so it doesn’t tip me over the edge!

Categories: Ramblings | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Blue Monday

  1. I think not getting up might be the best way to deal!

    I’m back on the weight loss wagon as well if you fancy a buddy to chivy you along!!

  2. thefrenchchick

    Or we can change the way we view “Blue”. Blue is a calm, peaceful color. Blue represents the quiet of winter, the resting time before all the hectic budding of spring.

    Did that help? 🙂

  3. Actually I think Blue Monday was meant to be the 17th!

    We should call the 24th Sunshine Yellow Monday and make sure we do happy stuff. 🙂

  4. Doing okay on those New year’s resolutions, except for exercise! I think it must be called Blue Monday because of the cold and flu season 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

