Signing off

I’m going to be taking a short break from blogging. Partly because I don’t have much to say and partly because I don’t have time to say it properly! Shoestring Alley came about because I wanted to sort my finances out, save some money and get a bit more organised along the way. I also wanted to start a family. Basically I’ve managed to achieve these things; I stay in budget, I don’t overspend, I’m as organised as I’m ever going to be and, best of all, as I type this there is a very gorgeous little girl sleeping in a cot upstairs.

For now there isn’t too much to say. Next year I’m hoping to do a course that might either mean being able to earn an additional part-time income or could even mark an eventual change in career. I’ll also be discussing terms with my employers regarding going back to work. Until then not much is going to change. My income is now very small but I’ll still be trying to save, I’ll still be trying to keep on top of budgets, paperwork and clutter. However, my primary focus is making the most of the remaining months of my maternity leave. The time is zipping by so fast. Every morning I wake up, peek over the edge of the cot and am treated to a great big, gummy grin. Knowing I get to spend the whole day with my baby is brilliant. Knowing I’ll have to go back to work…isn’t. It isn’t that I don’t like my job or don’t want to work – I just want to be with Baby a hundred times more. I hope things work out next year so I can work out a manageable balance. But that is next year and I’m concentrating on a week or so at a time…

I’m on my feet pretty much constantly, from early til late, and I just haven’t had the spare time or energy to blog as I’d like – no photos, plans, ideas, recipes. I’ve also found that I don’t have too much to say right right now. I considered stopping blogging altogether for a bit. Several blogs have sadly vanished from our midst this year, for a variety of reasons. However, I’m going to keep going but, for a while, it will be probably something like a monthly update (unless I have a mad moment of inspiration). And I’ll still be reading all of my favourite blogs. So I’ll still be around but maybe just a bit quieter.

So until next month I’ll be concentrating on:

  • Doing Mum stuff
  • Project £1k (I’m at £325)
  • Getting back to my pre-pregnancy weight (17 pounds to go)

I’ll let you know how I get on!

Categories: Ramblings | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Signing off

  1. Enjoy your blogging break and the rest of your maternity leave – it does go too quickly doesn’t it?

  2. thefrenchchick

    I agree that the time passes so quickly. Ditty reminded me yesterday when she, BooBoo & I were out to lunch at Space Aliens of how quickly the time passes. BooBoo pointed out one of the planets painted on the ceiling and said “That’s Saturn, right mom.” Yes, that’s Saturn. Then Ditty said, pointing to another, “And that’s Cupiter. Remember when BooBoo thought he was from Cupiter?” He was about three then, but I do remember.

    Enjoy your break and your precious baby.

  3. Just as one pops back onto the horizon, you’re planning on taking a break!! Hope you are well and that you return to blogging soon.

    Glad all OK with your little one.. x

  4. Shoestring I know where you’re coming from. Very wise choice of how to spend your time I think.

    I hope you manage to find the balance when you return to work. I have been lucky enough to experience all 3 options, being at home completely, working 2 days per week and now full time. I never imagined I’d like the full time option as much as I do…..but I think it was just the right time for me. If you can get good childcare that also has a huge impact on how you feel about everything.

    Take care, and look forward to your return x

  5. Oooh, I totally understand your reasons but am still a little sad 😦 Your blog has been an absolute joy to follow
    xx

  6. hollyjune

    Hope you enjoy your wee break and we’ll see you back soon xxx

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

