Frugal Fortnight

Since my income (£249 maternity allowance) is paid fortnightly, I’ve decided to attempt a frugal fortnight and see if I can actually save any of it! The £249 will need to cover:

  • Food shop x 2
  • Petrol
  • Mobile phone credit
  • General spending/expenses

While I haven’t been going mad spending I do feel like I’ve lost my shoestring mojo lately and am hoping that, with a bit of focus, I can get it back!

The food shop arrived today. I’m still getting it delivered as it saves such a lot of time and hassle and I’m still pretty knackered most of the time so I do think this is money well spent. Particularly considering that it would have cost at least half of the delivery fee to drive to the supermarket! I’ve written out a proper meal plan and the fridge is now bulging with goodies so a) I should actually be eating properly this week and b) we shouldn’t be wasting anything!

Today’s spending:

  • Food: £52.41

From the Shoestring Kitchen: 2 Weetabix with semi-skimmed milk, Ryvittas with soft cheese and ham plus a salad, fat free yoghurt, grapes, Carbonara (using pasta, bacon, mushrooms, garlic, a little olive oil, creme fraiche and a sprinkling of grated cheese) and raspberries with single cream. Note for tomorrow – must drink water and not just endless cups of tea!

Categories: Budgeting | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Frugal Fortnight

  1. Yay! Another Weetabix fan lol. Holly, Laura and I have been extolling the virtues of Weetabix recently, though I’ve controversially just switched to muesli for a bit (because I’ve had nothing but weetabix for breakfast for the past 18 months or so!)

    x

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

