Weigh-in: week 2

I’ve lost 3.5 pounds this week so that’s £35 to go into the new clothes pot! Since starting I’ve lost 5 pounds so I now have 21 of 26 to go.

I managed to have another clothes cull this week, getting rid of two carrier bags full. It was mostly things I hadn’t worn since I became pregnant and a lot of it hadn’t been worn for even longer. Some people say if you haven’t worn an item of clothing for a certain length of time (ie 6 months or a year) that you should just get rid of it. I’m never sure about this as I tend to go through phases of really liking things/forgetting I have them. Even so, I’ve decided I must be a bit more ruthless. If I don’t really, really like it (or it looks like it has seen better days) then it must go.

A couple of weeks ago I ordered a few items in a size larger than my pre-pregnancy clothes so I’ve got something to wear until the weight has gone/I can fit back into my old stuff. I suspect this will be sometime around Christmas if I keep at it. To keep me going until then I have bought a pair of jeans, a fitted cardi, a vest, 2 T-shirts and a shirt. The jeans have been a lifesaver. The trouble with wearing maternity trousers is that they tend to be cut so they fit just under the bump. Unfortunately this is at exactly the right point to rub against caesarean scars – ow. Anyway, my new capsule warobe (supplemented by the odd ‘old size’ item such as cardi’s and tops that look okay) should be plenty enough to see me through. I can’t wait to get back into my old things and also get some new bits and pieces. I took my favourite GAP cardi out of the drawer the other day only to find that moths have been at it and it now has two large holes. GRRRR. Anyone know how to repel these little buggers without resorting to stinky old-school mothballs?

Categories: Decluttering | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Weigh-in: week 2

  1. Dr_Na

    Could try cedarwood in your drawers/wardrobes as they don’t smell like moth balls…here is what I mean http://www.lakeland.co.uk/F/product/22267
    although am sure you could get them cheaper elsewhere….

  2. Congratulations! I’m really admiring of your resolve to continue with this – especially when you’re in the midst of intense babycare! Mind you, having the incentive of some new clothes would probably be enough of a spur for me to get things done as well! 🙂

  3. 3,5 lbs – good going. Am impressed….and following your progress may just give me the nudge I need.

  4. Congratulations on 3.5 more lbs lost! You seem to be doing very well. I had to buy smaller clothes a while ago after losing some weight I gained. In fact, I had the same jeans in three sizes, if I recall. It’s not fun, no, but it’s nice to see yourself progress so quickly, isn’t it?

    I’ll be keeping up with you! Congrats again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

