Shaping up

It’s been an exhausting few weeks, which can be sumarised in one word – colic. Things seem to be improving a little. This is the second evening in a row with baby asleep and me trying to recall what on earth I used to do before she was born. I have no idea what shape my finances are really in. I’m not working towards any plan at the moment as I am still trying to make sense of my current income and the odd times of the month that it seems to turn up. On a positive note, I haven’t been able to get out a great deal (general tiredness, not being able to drive post-caesarean etc etc) so I haven’t really spent that much. I haven’t bought any (non-baby related) stuff so my spending has mainly revolved around food and the odd lunch out when the weather has been nice and we’ve had a reasonable night the night before. Obviously a new baby is an entertainment unit in itself. Many, many hours have been taken up with baby gazing and cooing…

I’m seeing the doctor for my 6 week check up next week (can you believe it has been nearly six weeks?!) and provided all is well I shall be embarking on a gentle diet/fitness regime. I’m not setting any time targets on losing the baby weight -I’m a big believer in the philosophy that slow and steady wins the race when it comes to diets. I shall be heading in the direction of Slimming World as I had some success with them about a decade ago and it is the only diet I can do long term. Mainly because there is no limit to the amount of food you can eat in a day (only the type) and it doesn’t advocate cutting out any food groups. Also, they offer an adjusted plan for people who are breastfeeding to make sure you are getting enough of all the good stuff.

My various books and leaflets suggest that a ‘normal’ weight gain during pregnancy is between 2 – 2.5 stone. I actually put on just over 3.5 stone, which I am fine with. Obviously I lost a lot through baby being born and have lost a few pounds since so I now have around 2 stone to lose to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight. I’ll sort out a proper plan after I’ve been to the doctors. I’m also feeling much better in general and am looking forward to getting out and about with the pram and going for a walk every day which should help.

Rather than spending money on joining a group I could just do the obvious to lose weight – ‘eat less, exercise more’. The thing is, we all know this is the case and yet it isn’t very inspiring is it? Plus, as I am breastfeeding and have a baby to look after I want to make sure I am eating plenty of good food every day so I actually need to eat more (of the right foods), not less. It is so easy to eat badly/not enough when you are looking after a wee one. Hours get eaten up and I have found it horribly easy to eat a load of rubbish than take the time to make something decent to eat. This is okay in the short term but it has to stop now. Honestly, I’m not being sponsored by Slimming World but I really like the fact that you can eat loads of healthy things while just limiting treats. So. Next week I’ll work out exactly how much I need to lose and keep track of how I’m doing on here. I’m not after anything drastic but I do want to keep the ball rolling and make sure I am losing a steady one or two pounds a week. Not only do I have a bedroom full of clothes that I can’t get into but I really don’t want to be sat here this time next year looking at old photos of myself and feeling glum.

If things keep improving sleep-wise I hope to be back on blogging form soon!

Categories: Ramblings | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Shaping up

  1. thefrenchchick

    Glad to hear from you again. Sleep deprivation just makes everything that much harder to do. Slimming World sounds like they have their heads on straight for the diet bit. Glad to hear baby is doing better on the colic front and your are both getting more sleep.

  2. Lady, breastfeeding deserves cake, and most of the pregnancy weight tends to mostly just go away at around 6 months anyway. Eat cake. Goodness knows you deserve it and you have enough on your plate. Honestly it will go, just on its own. You may have a bit of residual to deal with, but just deal with it when you are running after a toddler and have no time to eat!! and if it makes you feel better I put on about 4 stone during pregnancy!

  3. Nicola

    Congratulations. I’ve been looking forward to an update on your progress. It’s great to hear that you are breastfeeding, the ultimate in thrift with regards to feeding your babe (aside from the obvious health benefits to you (including burning around 500 cals per day!) and babe) and fantastic for the environment. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

