Sunshine, books and rocking chairs

Is summer here? Other than a rainy fit yesterday it has been suspiciously sunny in these parts. I’ve been so consumed by getting everything finished at home and work before the due date that I sort of forgot it might be on its way…quite a nice surprise as it turns out. Thus far week 2 of my maternity leave has been more chilled out than week 1 – probably because the house is now very clean and tidy and most of the ‘to do’s’ have been done. Due to the mank weather yesterday I didn’t leave the house and was rewarded with a banging headache. This always happens if I stay in all day (must make note to self not to do this again unless strictly necessary).

Today I tramped back down to the library to return two of the books I borrowed and borrowed some more. I am now gripped by The 19th Wife by Davcid Ebershoff. I don’t know why I haven’t read it up until now (I kept seeing it everywhere) but I’m glad I didn’t because it has been just the ticket. I also went out for coffee with my friend and her 5 week old baby and sat by the sea in the sunshine. Much better than sitting at my desk staring at a computer screen which is what I’d usually be doing at midday on a Monday! Then, in a distinctly unbudget friendly fashion, I decided we needed to go out for dinner. What can I say? The sun was out and it won’t be long before randomly going out will be off the cards.

One good bit of budget friendly action took place over the weekend – we managed to find a chair for the nursery. I had kind of given up trying to find anything as the room is so small (basically a large box room) and then we saw a chair in the window of a shop in our nearest city. It is actually meant for the garden but is perfect as it is very narrow (essential!), has arms, is surprisingly comfortable and also rocks (literally). I did wonder if it might not be upright enough but I’m sure a big fat cushion will fix that. Best of all it only cost £29. They didn’t have any left ready to take away so we are having it sent to us by courier for £5 which I thought was a bit of a bargain considering it would have cost us way more than that in petrol and parking to go and collect it when their delivery arrives. Thus I think just about all of the pre-baby purchases have been done. Apart from hiring a TENS machine which I still can’t make up my mind whether to go for or not. Hmmm….

Categories: Baby, Book love | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Sunshine, books and rocking chairs

  1. thefrenchchick

    TENS machine? What’s that?

    I’m in the middle of reading The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows. I’d love to get your opinion on that one.

    • shoestringalley

      I haven’t read it but it is on my list of books to read!

  2. well – I found the TENS machine brilliant. I had one strapped to me for HOURS! It doesn’t stop the pain but it sort of gives you a rhythm over it. A bit like putting your fingers in your ears and going LA LA LA when you don’t want to hear some thing very loud. You can still here it, but you hear LA LA LA more – it wont make any sense unless you use it. and many people don’t. but, you now have the option.

    • shoestringalley

      I really ought to do something about it if I am going to hire one. I just can’t quite seem to get going at the moment!

  3. that probably doesn’t sound very encouraging. It gave me some thing to focus on. and I found it helpful. That and breathing out and going ooooooooooooooooh. !!

  4. Ooooh, not heard of that book – will have to hunt it down in my library. Is it a new release?

    • shoestringalley

      It came out either last year or the year before so it is relatively new. Def a good read!

  5. thefrenchchick

    Okay, I googled TENS and realized from the wiki photo that this is the type of machine that our chiropractor used to treat BooBoo’s stiff neck.

    I’m still of two minds on using it in childbirth though. Part of me says yes natural ways to control pain are better than drugs, the other part is concerned that the electrical pulses would decrease the contractions themselves and the contractions are necessary both to bring the baby into the outside world and to get the baby ready for the new work of breathing air. Not much help am I?

    My sil once told me “Labor is pain with a purpose.” Focusing on that statement helped me. I don’t believe labor tests a woman, so much as it shows us that we really are capable of great love and endurance.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

