Seasonal food for May

A few more things are coming in to season now, as well as a few that cropped up on the April list, including:

  • asparagus
  • aubergines
  • broad beans
  • cabbage
  • celery
  • cherries
  • lettuce
  • new potatoes
  • radish
  • rhubarb
  • spinach
  • tomatoes
  • watercress

Last month I was excited to see rhubarb on the list (I know, excited by rhubarb – must be the hormones), quickly dampened by the fact that, despite looking all month, I couldn’t find any anywhere. I finally tracked some down a couple of days ago and am going to be trying out a new recipe for rhubarb crumble this evening – I’ll let you know if it is any good. This weekend I also tried out a new, very simple recipe for celery soup which is something I’d never made before. I was slightly suspicious (I don’t know why) but it was actually quite nice. It was also very cheap to make as, other than buying a pack of celery, the rest came out of my storecupboard and general kitchen staples. In case anyone fancies a go:

CELERY SOUP

Ingredients

  • 300g celery (approx one of the packs you get in supermarkets after the top and bottom have been discarded), chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 400ml chicken or vegetable stock

To make:

  • Heat oil in saucepan and cook the celery, onion and garlic on a fairly low heat for around five minutes until softened
  • Add the stock, bring to a boil and then simmer for 10-15 minutes
  • Use a hand held blender or food processor and blend until smooth

Next time I might try reducing the amount of stock and replacing it with a bit of milk for a creamier taste/texture. Still, it tasted fine as it was – very fresh and healthy!

Categories: Recipes, Seasonal food | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Seasonal food for May

  1. ooh I love celery. ta for the fab list of in season ingredients. I nearly bought a book about that. goes to show, the internet is what you need, not another book on the shelf (well, if you are trying to be a declutterer anyhoo)

    • shoestringalley

      Glad you liked it. I’m going to try and write a list at the start of each month so I know what to keep an eye out for!

  2. hollyjune

    I made this soup today and it was delicious! You’re right, really tasty and refreshing. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    • shoestringalley

      It’s not often you find a summery sort of soup is it? I’m going to be hitting the recipe books in search of more…

      • hollyjune

        I find myself really stuck for what to eat at this time of year. I love to make big batches of soup and freeze them in winter but in summer I only want to eat salad and you can’t exactly make loads of that up in advance.

        Let us know if you find anything else!

  3. If you’re still on the look-out for rhubarb, Aldi have packs of it for 99p. Very yummy it is too and it’s UK grown as well.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

