Packing my bags

Nope, I’m not off on holiday. I’ve started getting my bag ready for the forthcoming trip to the hospital. In the last fortnight two of my friends have had babies. One was in hospital for a single night while the other was in for five days which just goes to show how tricky it is to know exactly how much stuff to take. Most of the literature I’ve been given recommends having your bags packed and ready to go by the 34th week of pregnancy but I can’t pack everything yet because some of the things I am planning to take will be needed in the meantime. Advice on what you need varies a lot so I think it depends on whether you tend to prefer to travel light or to pack the kitchen sink. I usually fall into the ‘travel light’ category but there still seems to be a lot of ‘stuff’ that is necessary!

This evening I settled for starting to pack the changing bag and choosing which baby clothes to take – an excuse to play with tiny doll sized things as much as anything else. The nursery is coming together quite well. The cot and chest of drawers are in place, the room has been redecorated and various mystifying pieces of baby equipment are gathering on shelves and in drawers. We’ve almost got everything we wanted to get before she actually arrives – one last jaunt around the shops at the weekend should do it. After not spending very much for quite a long time it has been odd to be in buying mode of late, what with getting things for the nursery and doing all of the home improvements. I’ve still got a couple of weeks left at work though I’ve been using up some holiday time so I can have four days weeks which helps a bit as, predictably, I am increasingly tired. People keep telling me to get as much sleep as possible though the fact is I haven’t slept straight through the night since sometime in September and it seems to have been a long time since I managed to get more than two consecutive hours of sleep. Maybe once I’m on maternity leave I’ll actually be able to do the whole daytime nap thing, who knows? As for tomorrow, I’ve got the day off so I’m planning to do a bit of cooking for the freezer and maybe  a spot more packing!

Categories: Baby | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Packing my bags

  1. So exciting!

    Hope you manage to get some proper shut eye soon xx

  2. mo

    oooh sooo exciting. I remember that time, waiting, anticipating…. panic buying / packing… remember you can get things afterwards as well. A friend told me that, but I didn’t believe her!! remember newborn nappies is all I can say! and seriously fat sanitary towels. delightful stuff!!

  3. How exciting! Packing that bag makes it seem so real!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

