Seasonal food and clearing the freezer

Just about every bit of pregnancy related literature recommends stocking up your freezer with homemade ready-meals to save time (and make sure you actually get something to eat!) during the first few weeks with a new baby. I’m a fan of making ready meals for the freezer anyway so this shouldn’t be too much of a problem. We currently have quite a lot of stuff lurking in the freezer that has been there for a while and needs to be used up. Thus I am going to spend the next week or so trying to clear as much space as possible, not to mention freeing up some containers. Our freezer is part of a fridge/freezer combo and has four good sized drawers so there should be plenty of space to get a good store in. Once that is done I can have a bit of fun planning what to make and maybe even trying out some new recipes.

Speaking of which, last year I wrote about trying to pay more attention to eating fresh produce that is actually in season. There must be something about Spring that gets me thinking like this because when I looked up the post (you can read it here) I wrote it in the same week in April last year that I was looking it up this year. Sadly I didn’t consciously stick to it. I am hoping that, despite the many distraction on the horizon, I should be able to look at this maybe once a month to see what is actually in season here in the UK. I’d love to say I would exclusively shop for locally grown produce but that would mean going without some of my favourite, favourite foods like nectarines which I’m afraid I just can’t resist. However, a few steps in the right direction must be better than no effort at all. Last year I put together the following list of things to look out for in April but please feel free to leave a comment if you know of something else that is good this month:

  • celery
  • potatoes
  • radish
  • rhubarb
  • spinach
  • tomatoes
  • watercress
  • peas

I was excited to see rhubarb on the list (rhubarb crumble!) but haven’t actually managed to track any down yet. It did inspire me to pick up some celery though which, even though I really like it, I don’t often think about adding to my shopping list. I’ll try to do a shopping list once a month for a bit of inspiration.

Categories: Baby, Seasonal food | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Seasonal food and clearing the freezer

  1. I don’t know if this will help, but one of my favorite (American-based) food blogs keeps track of what’s in season each month. However, I just don’t know if that will help you in the UK.

    For April, she has: artichokes, asparagus, broccoli, edible flowers, haas avocado, lettuce, mangoes, mint, morel mushrooms, pineapples, parsley, radishes, rhubarb, rocket, rosemary, sage, spring greens, spring peas, sorrel, strawberries, watercress, wild garlic, zucchini

    I hope that helps. : )

  2. Here’s her website: http://www.fresh365online.com/

    (forgot to include it in prior comment.)

  3. Kirwin – where have you been!!

    Celery is FABUlous in soups I think. I make a mean celery tomato and lentil soup. very very easy. you can make it just those ingredients with stock or add an onion and a few carrots. YUMMO

  4. also, if you are being frugal, the in season stuff is the cheap stuff!! sometimes you are in season with out knowing it!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

