Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

You might have noticed that just a few hours ago I wrote a post about doing some washing. Guess what? Now the washing machine is playing up, leaking all over the floor. I know I’ve said this already but I have never had such a run of things breaking and going wrong. Off the top of my head, since Christmas we’ve had to deal with the following:

  • Husband’s car died & had to be replaced
  • Lost my company car and had to use my savings to buy one
  • Borrowed car died
  • My ‘new’ car needed to go back to the garage
  • Front foor lock broke
  • No hot water in bath
  • Bathroom taps needed to be replaced
  • Boiler needed to be mended and serviced
  • Shower broke and we had to buy a replacement and get it fitted

This is on top of all of the other work we’ve been doing and repairs of things that have been broken for longer. Now I’m stuck trying to decide between getting an engineer out to try and fix it (notoriously expensive and not always able to provide a long term solution) or to cave in and buy a new one. Typical that this should happen just when we’re about to have a baby – the number one time that people say you really need a washing machine in good working order! I really don’t want to spend a lot of money on a repair that doesn’t really solve the problem if we then have to go out and buy a new machine – kind of a false economy. The trouble is that they are so expensive…

I’ve kind of given up thinking about savings. What with all of the things on the above list going wrong we didn’t have much choice to but to use what we had to get everything going again. I’m just so annoyed that yet another expensive thing has cropped up. Obviously in the scheme of things this isn’t a major problem. It is just aggravating and disheartening. In the same period of time I’ve had a massive pay cut and lost my company car, have had to start a new job hence losing my right to 90% of my usual pay for the first 6 weeks of my maternity leave as well as any other perks and have had to spend what took me a lot of time, effort and work to save. I’m not exactly back at square one but I feel like I’ve gone back a hundred steps right at a time when we’ve got a lot of extra expenses and I’m about to say goodbye to my full time wage. Don’t get me wrong – I know that I am very, very lucky in more respects than I can begin to count. However, this doesn’t mean that the broken washing machine isn’t really pissing me off. Because it is. By the way, did I mention my feet are so swollen I only have one pair of shoes that fit me and they are trainers so I can’t wear them to work?

So, the plan? I’ll just do what needs to be done and see what we have left at the end of it. And then start all over again…

Categories: Budgeting | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

  1. Naomi

    It is so disheartening when everything seems to happen at once. I have a little suggestion for your feet…have you considered using flight socks? They’re just compression stockings, can get them in supermarkets and Boots (for example)- not very attractive but they’re hidden under trousers and you’ll be able to get your shoes on! They really helped my feet in my pregnancy – I wore them all the time in the latter stages.
    N

  2. Bless you. A broken washing machine is all you need whilst in full on nesting mode.

    Fingers crossed it can be fixed or you can find a cheap (but reliable replacement).

    For what its worth I used to work for a well known electrical retailer and the word on the ground was that you should only ever go for a Hotpoint or a Bosch – although this was years ago so this advice may be out of date.

    Good luck 🙂

  3. Frugal Trenches

    I had the same thing last week. It is awful. ((((hugs))))

    Your plan is a good one, starting over again ends up being exciting (after the pain of the realization!).

    Hugs

  4. apieceofwood

    I know I’d rather have a fully functioning machine.. could you get an opinion on what’s wrong and whether it’s worth getting it fixed before making a decision?

    Hope you are well x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

