March madness

How easily things get in a muddle! We seem to be trying to juggle about a million different things at the moment. Here’s a recap:

  • Finances: I’m still chasing the money I am owed (which is looking more and more like I won’t get any of) as well as waiting for confirmation regarding my maternity allowance. I was taxed too much last month and am trying to get new codes sorted out so I can’t even tell for sure what I am going to be get paid. Also, because we seem to have so much going out at the moment I need to keep a closer eye on what is going where. It all feels a bit like it is spinning out of control!
  • Home Improvements: We are putting our home on the market in less than a year and want to get all of the major jobs out of the way before my due date as we know we’ll be pushed for time afterwards.
  • Health: Gah, I’ve been bad. I am eating plenty of fruit and veg and making sure I get enough dairy, protein and so on each day. The trouble is, in addition to all of the healthy food, I have also started eating a lot of crap. I can’t seem to stop myself – literally. I have never known anything like it. Plus there seem to be constant rounds of cakes and biscuits at work and I no longer have an ounce of willpower not to eat all of it. My colleagues have been seriously impressed/amused by the amount I can get through. Also I still haven’t been taking anything like enough exercise and am feeling very creaky and stiff as a result. I need to start using my pregnancy yoga DVD and try to go for a walk a few times a week. Thankfully the evenings, slowly but surely, seem to be getting a bit lighter which means a walk after work doesn’t seem quite so unappealing. The answer is simple really: pack even larger packed lunches (with healthy food!) and take a bit of gentle exercise a few times a week.

As ever, the solution to all of the above is getting a realistic plan in place and then making sure I actually follow it through (always the tricky bit)! For March I will try to do a post on each of the above once a week. This should give me a bit of focus and spur me on. As I generally seem to do the food shop on a Friday (my biggest weekly expense) I’ll kick off tomorrow with a look at my finances and take things from there. Wish me luck!

Categories: Goals | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “March madness

  1. thisthriftedlife

    I also need to be exercising and just haven’t had the willpower lately. It’s so cold outside! but I bet I could find a pregnancy pilates video or something of the like on Netflix. Now that warmer weather seems to be around the bend, hopefully I will snap out of the funk.

  2. I found it so hard when I was pregnant eating-wise, you never really know what you want! lol!! And sometimes I was starving, other times no appetite at all. Hope you’re able to get your exercise going, it’ll help a lot with the achiness, etc! 🙂

    http://www.halfdozendaily.wordpress.com

  3. Console yourself with the fact that you are pregnant! I, on the other hand, have no excuse 🙂

  4. I love what you are doing on this blog, the whole idea of living on a shoestring and making do. It’s one of the reasons I grow my own veg, and I’m very much in favour of ‘love food hate waste’ good luck with the baby, and I will be back to have a good read of your older posts when I have a minute.
    M 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

