Going bananas

I’ve had a day off today, mainly to get a few things done around the house and to collect an order from Argos. However I’ve also found time for a spot of baking…

Banana cake is a real favourite in our house and I am inexplicably fond of cakes that can be made in a loaf tin, maybe because the recipes seem to be so simple. Husband loves this one and it is a great way to use up over-ripe bananas.

BANANA LOAF CAKE

Ingredients

  • 150g sugar
  • 60g butter
  • 240g self-raising flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 or 4 ripe bananas, mashed
  • Chopped walnuts and/or sultanas

To make:

  • Pre-heat oven to Gas Mark 4 / 350 / 180
  • Grease tin
  • Cream together the sugar and butter
  • Add the eggs, beat in until consistency is smooth, then beat in the mashed bananas
  • Add the flour and beat in well until it is incorporated into the mixture
  • Stir in the walnuts/sultanas and trasnfer the mixture to the tin
  • Bake for 1 hour or until skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean
  • Transfer to a wire rack and slice when cool

Now all I need is a pot of tea and a good book…

Categories: Home Economics, Recipes | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Going bananas

  1. Oh I’m a huge fan of banana bread – I almost stand there wishing my lovely fresh bananas would ripen quicker so I can get mashing!

    x

  2. Frugal Trenches

    I make a lot of banana bread for people, but can never have any myself since I’m allergic! Oh the unfairness of it all ;0)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

