Bath baby

I’ve mentioned before that I’m something of a bath baby. I didn’t used to be – it’s something that has happened over the last few years. I know showers are actually more economical but, these days, there’s nothing more appealing than a soak in the tub. I’ve been given some gifts recently and now have a whole section of my bathroom shelf dedicated to maternity skin care…

It’s been lovely because I doubt I would have bothered to go out and buy myself this sort of thing – my pennies and pounds have enough demands on them at the moment. The only thing I did buy myself was some Bio oil. Typically though, I couldn’t stand the smell so I’ve only used it once. However, my smell sensitivity seems to be ebbing away now so I might give it another go when the lovely Mama Bee oil runs out. I really must remember how nice it was to receive these things so that, next time I hear some pregnancy news, I can provide a similar treat!

Speaking of gifts, I bought quite a few things to go in my gift boxes today. Technically I didn’t have any budget put aside for this but a local shop had an amazing sale and some special offers on and I just couldn’t resist stocking up while I had the chance. I’ve been tucking things away for a couple of months and now have only two people left to buy birthday presents for this year. Dare I say it, I’ve also bought four Christmas presents. While I do generally like to buy ahead if I can, I’m making an even bigger effort this year as I’ll be losing my full time income in a few months. I find that if I try to save up for Christmas I end up raiding the fund (I don’t know why – it’s the one form of saving I just can’t seem to do) whereas if I buy something then it is bought, end of story. Also we had a visit from the Book People at work and I bought a box of 30 greetings cards as my supplies were getting low. It cost £9 so just 30p per card. All of these things should make life a bit easier when I’m caught up in a whirlwind of nappies and sleepless nights and might not have the time/energy/money to go to the shops!

Categories: Baby, Budget beauty | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Bath baby

  1. I love Burt’s Bees! Mums-to-be often get forgotten in the present department (everyone wants to buy things for the baby) so I’m glad you have been treated by your friends 🙂

  2. Frugal Trenches

    Great idea!

    Can I admit it has been at least 4 years since I had a bath. Rest assure I shower daily 😉

  3. Paige

    I love baths! I have just received some body shop bath stuff… Can’t wait to try them with a good book that I got from the Library. 🙂 x

  4. thisthriftedlife

    Ooh, I love baths. I’ve never been much of a shower person.

    If you get a chance, try Burt’s Bees coconut foot balm. I put it on at night after a bath, then go to bed with cotton socks on. My feet are like buttah the next morning.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

