Saving and sneezing

We’ve had a variety of change jars and pots on the go for about a year. The largest jar has been full for a while and so a couple of other pots have been recruited along the way for odd pennies and coins. Last night I decided to count them up and discovered that we had £4 in coppers which I have bagged up, ready to be changed at the bank next time I go. We also had a couple of pounds worth of 10p’s which I changed into pound coins from my purse. I decided to start two new change jars – one for clothes/accessories and one for holidays. It’s not a particularly serious endeavour. When the time comes for buying new things or taking a holiday I’ll budget for them properly. However, I thought it wouldn’t hurt to have a place to put change each time we have enough to convert into pound coins. Also, it might motivate me to try and keep the odd couple of pounds back from my ‘pocket’ money and the food budget when I’m using cash instead of my debit card!

I’m teetering on the brink of coming down with a cold. I’m actually amazed that I have got away with it for as long as I have. For the first winter ever I have escaped the ceasless rounds of colds, sore throats and coughs that have plagued my office. I can’t say why really. In the past I have taken multi-vitamins through the winter months to try and give my immune system a boost but to no avail. The only thing I can think of that has been any different is my pregnancy craving for orange juice. Pregnancy aside, I don’t drink fruit juice very often. My dentist warned me, years ago, that the high sugar/acid content meant it can be very bad for your teeth. I have had enough problems with my teeth without asking for extra trouble so I tend to avoid it as much as I avoid fizzy drinks. However, early on in my pregnancy I started really craving it, right around the time everyone started catching colds and I was the only one that escaped unscathed. Even Husband has had two colds this winter and I didn’t catch anything. Every time I saw someone sneezing I bought a carton of orange juice, drank the whole thing and got away with it. I really can’t say if there is a connection but I am told that your immune system is more fragile than usual during pregnancy so you are actually more prone to catching things – and yet I have caught nothing. Until now anyway. The latest cold has arrived at work and I had a sore throat yesterday, sneezed a few times, had burning eyes and so on. It doesn’t seem to have broken yet so I’m hoping it could still go either way. I did the weekly shop yesterday and bought, in addition to some more orange juice, piles of extra fruit – hence the picture of my lunch above. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I get away with it one more time!

Categories: Frugal ideas, Saving | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Saving and sneezing

  1. apieceofwood

    Hope you feel better soon! Nice to see some piccies!

  2. Hope you manage to ward off the dreaded lurgy. Earlier this winter I bought some very expensive multi-vitamin thingies in the hope of warding off any possible Swine flu virus. We both took themreligiously every day and within a few weeks had both succumbed to some horrible cold / stomach virus. The multi-vitamins have not been touched since.

    I keep a change jar for coppers and 5p pieces and cash it in twice a year at a Coinstar machine in Sainsbury’s. I’m always very pleasantly suprised by how much accumulates in such small change over six months or so. I use the voucher from Coinstar to buy us some tasty treats at the supermarket.

  3. Frugal Trenches

    the jar system is wonderful isn’t it?

    do hope you are resting and feel better soon! ((hugs))

  4. shoestringalley

    Thanks all…it is still lingering but I might get the better of it yet!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

