Getting ready for baby

Ever since my bump really started showing, more people have been asking if I have bought anything for the baby. The simple answer is, not a thing. Until the spare room has been made into a nursery I don’t have anywhere to put anything. The plan is to not start on the nursery until the rest of the house is finished, for the simple reason that I know we won’t get it all finished otherwise! The only pregnancy/baby related things I have bought have been maternity clothes and three books. However, we do seem to be gathering a small pile of baby things as very lovely people have been giving us pressies. So far our baby girl has:

  • Two soft toys
  • A hat with matching mittens
  • A set of bibs
  • A dress/top combo and matching tights
  • A stripy all in one
  • Two cardigans
  • A blanket
  • A travel cot (used once)

So yet more focus is required because what I really want to be doing is transforming that spare room into a nursery so I can start getting ready properly!

Categories: Baby | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Getting ready for baby

  1. thisthriftedlife

    I also need to get started on the nursery! So far I have…bought one pillow.

    But we are doing remodeling projects all over the house, so I doubt I’ll actually get anything done in there til much closer to time for the baby to arrive.

    • shoestringalley

      Sounds like you are in much the same position as us! It does seem best to get everything else straight before thinking about the last, and most important 🙂 , room.

  2. Frugal Trenches

    I found (when I nannied and had the little ones move in with um maybe an hours notice! LOL) that you really don’t need anywhere near what people think you need, especially if you are breastfeeding and cloth diapering. I thought I’d share my list:

    cot (new and new mattress for safety reasons) with minimal bedding and no pillows
    http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/buyingforbaby/cotscribsbedding/bedroomsafety/

    carseat (new, again for safety) which I installed in the back seat (again safety – sadly you still see many in the front seat but back seat is where I read, researched etc where they should be)
    Here’s the info from ROSPA http://www.childcarseats.org.uk/types/index.htm which states they should be in the back seat (in some countries it is even illegal to put a child in the front)

    mat with one of those hanging toy things

    pushchair

    6-8 onesies (for under clothing)
    6-8 sleepers
    6-8 little outfits
    socks, bibs,
    4 blankets
    4-6 muslins for using for burping, holding, clothing etc
    16 cloth nappies
    18 cloth wipes
    I had about 4 disposables and wipes for emergencies
    cream

    a few toys and books, a few nice CD’s – honestly crying babies seem to be soothed Mozart and classical music!

    Hope that helps!!!

    • shoestringalley

      Thanks for the ideas FT. I’ve got a list of ‘must haves’ (plus a couple of ‘just because’ items) in my filofax, waiting until I’ve got somewhere to put it all. A few offers have been made by friends who have things we might be able to borrow too. Our spare room is really more of a box room so I doubt we’d have space for a rocking chair alas. I’ve been looking around (in a very vague sort of way) for a small, compact but comfortable chair, maybe with a tiny foot stool that could slip underneath. I’ll let you know if I find anything! Funnily enough, someone else mentioned Mozart to me yesterday – as a suggestion for during the birth! To be honest I’m not convinced that giving birth to music is for me. Kind of reminds me of those hot air balloon displays somehow – I bet I’ll feel about the same size by then 🙂

  3. Frugal Trenches

    oooh forgot to say in my very very long comment that I also really recommend a grown up rocking chair with foot rest for long nights cuddling, feeding etc. I could not have made it through nannying or caring for the youngest of the inspirations without it!

  4. We’ve only just finished our nursery! (will move K in this weekend)
    I was overwhelmed with the amount of clothes and toys given as pressies. So much didn’t even get worn! As long as you have your basics you can always get Mr Shoestring to pick up anything else you find you need.

    • shoestringalley

      Yes, it is certainly true that people are very generous with little outfits and toys. I expect we’ll just buy very basic items to begin with. Luckily the outfits we’ve been given so far range from 0-3 months and 3-6 months rather than things just for newborns which is very handy. Hope K enjoys her new room!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

