A pinch and a punch

A new month – yippee! It always feels like a fresh, clean slate. My post yesterday, about motivation, kind of worked. I managed to get quite a bit of decluttering done. One of the things I have to do is clear out the spare room which has been (and still currently is) the only place I can really sit down and do paperwork, go online and, er, write lists. The desk and drawers are going to have to go soon so one of the things I have got to finish is sorting out new places to store everything.

I’m quite good at throwing certain things away. I struggle however, with anything that has sentimental value such as cards, letters and old diaries. It can be hard to let go of this kind of thing but the fact is I just don’t have the space for all of it. I was given a very pretty storage box recently and so I’ve decided to keep all of those letters and notes in there. When it gets too full to add anything else then I’ll go through it again and see if I can part with any of its contents. After a bit of procrastinating I also decided to part company with my selection of partially filled diaries. I’ve kept a selection of cards and letters that really mean the most to me and the rest have gone.

It took quite a while to sort through it all and I’m sure I’ll come across more as I work my way through the house. The main purpose was to get most of it done and arrange somewhere to keep these things so I can put them away as I find them. I’ve still got the rest of the desk/drawer stuff to be getting on with but at least I’ve sorted out that one part!

Categories: Decluttering, Getting organised | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A pinch and a punch

  1. Frugal Trenches

    Well done you! In theory I want none of it, but when it comes to actually throwing it out, it’s hard!! But I soooo want to be a minimalist!

  2. Snap!

    Today I’m all about sorting out our spare bedroom too but only because I’ve got a friend staying for a few days.

    And so funny, I’ve got a “memory box” too, but I’ve used an old boot shoebox so it’s huge and I it’s not filled up yet. And, on the top, also our used passports! 🙂

    Good luck with the rest of it
    Kx

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

