Home Improvement 15: Painting and planning

We painted the bathroom walls yesterday so another job can come off the list! I’m not sure what I dislike about painting the most – the act of doing it or having to move stuff around and make/clear up a big mess. I think probably the latter. The actual painting only took about half an hour (not including the sanding) as it is a very small room. It is mostly tiled so we only had to do one and half walls plus the tongue and groove bath panel. Mo from over at Get Stuff Done suggested we have a go at painting just one little bit at a time. The bathroom needed so little doing that it was easier to do it all in one go, but I’ll be trying out this idea – particularly with woodwork. Although our home is small it seems to have a lot of doors, all of which could do with a coat of paint. One bit at a time seems like a good plan so thanks for the tip Mo!

By the way, the new filing system is working like a dream. I’ve got the files on a shelf on the landing and it is so easy to put things away as soon as they arrive. The best £7.80 I’ve spent in a long time!

Husband and I sat down last night and did a spot of planning. I’m still slightly horrified by how much there is to do. A lot of it, realistically, can only be done at weekends. I’m finding this a bit frustrating as I want to get on with it – the clock is ticking. Not one to be easily defeated, I decided that another list was in order. I’ve called this my ‘after-school projects’ list. Basically this is for small things I can do that will either help us to be ready for the weekend DIY bursts or for general decluttering and so on. Each of these things should take an hour or less. That way I can either get on and do something useful (rather than going around in circles) or ignore it and have a day off. I’d like to think I could find up to an hour most days to get something done until it is all finished (this is where Mo’s tip might come in handy). I had a bit of time last night before I had to get ready to go out so I started sorting through some old photos. They are a bit of a random collection and I’m not sure they’ll ever find their way into an album so I’m thinking of finding a suitable box for them to go in. I didn’t get it finished but I decided to just do as much as I could in half an hour so at least I’ve got a start on it!

Categories: home improvements | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Home Improvement 15: Painting and planning

  1. Frugal Trenches

    Goodness me you are getting so much done! So glad the filing system is working for you! Now if I could just get motivated….! 🙂

  2. It’s ‘paint the bathroom’ week in our house too; for some reason it’s the room I dislike doing the most!

    You’re doing so well, ‘after school projects’ sound like a good idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

