My wardrobe quest

I’ve started having a proper sort out of my wardrobe. Firstly, I needed to check out what fits and what doesn’t (I am suddenly looking very pregnant) and secondly I realised that I’ve been stuck in a bit of a rut. I think the rut has been largely due to the freezing weather but there’s more to my wardrobe than jumpers and pashminas! The first part of my quest has been trying to work out how to make my exisiting wardrobe work for me so I only need to supplement it with a few maternity pieces:

  • Trousers: My belly band now fits! It is seriously comfortable and means I can carry on wearing all of my regular trousers from workwear to skinny jeans. I also bought a pair of maternity jeans in the Next sale for £10 a few weeks ago. They are a bit big but fortunately the waistline sits under the bump so I can keep them up with a belt. I expect I’ll need to buy a pair of black maternity trousers at some point but I don’t need to as yet.
  • Tops that don’t really fit: I’ve got a lot of work shirts and fitted tops that, while I can get them on, don’t actually look any good so I have packed them away in a drawer.
  • Stretchy tops: I have a good selection of tops in jersey fabric which all still fit. I’ve hung all of these in my wardrobe so I can see exactly what I’ve got. Some will probably only fit for another month or so – some a bit longer.

I’ve decided that the way forward is cardigans worn open with plain, stretchy tops underneath. That way, I can buy a couple of non-maternity cardi’s that I will be able to carry on wearing after my due date – a much better investment! A colleague was having a clear out last week and gave me a nice navy cardi from Topshop to add to my collection. I’ve had some odd tips from people, like wearing my husbands clothes. Er. This might be okay if I was about a foot taller! The other issue is, I have a job where I need to look smart and professional and I’m just not going to get away without buying a few things. I ordered a pair of boots from Next (to replace the ones that can’t be fixed) and, since I was paying the delivery fee anyway, I decided to grab a pack of maternity T-shirts while I was at it. They aren’t the most exciting garments in the world but I think they are a good buy. Three cotton T-shirts (one black, one white, one green) for £12, so just £4 each. As they are plain I can dress them up or down so they will be good for work or at home (and will go with my cardi’s!).

 The second part of the quest involves making better use of what I’ve got generally. While I’ve had a sort out based on my maternity ‘needs’ I’ve also decided to try and get more use out of all of the other things I own, namely accessories. I have a lot. And I mean a lot. Except I seem to get stuck on wearing the same few pieces again and again. While there’s nothing wrong with going through a phase of loving a particular thing, in my case it is a bit of a waste. I’ve got some lovely necklaces, earrings and scarves that I hardly ever wear and yet I do really like them. This also goes for make-up. I seem to stick to a couple of favourite eyeshadows etc and wear them every day instead of having a go with some of the other things in my make-up box.

I know a couple of people who put out what they are going to wear the night before. This is an idea I’ve always liked but have never managed to stick to for more than two days in a row. However, I’m going to give it a go over the next few weeks, at least during the working week. I really want to make sure I am getting the full use out of the clothes, accessories and make-up that I already own and I can’t deny that having made a bit more of an effort puts a spring in my step!

Am I alone in this or does anyone else seem to end up wearing the same things over and over, leaving other things languishing in cupboards? Do you make the effort to rotate your clothes (other than seasonally)? Any tips for putting together new combinations out of existing ‘stock’?! And any tips for good things to invest in if you are pregnant?

 

Categories: Baby | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “My wardrobe quest

  1. The open cardi worked really well for me while I was pregnant! Something I found useful was a pair of yoga pants with a soft stretchy waistband that fitted under my bump. I wore them in hospital too as they were much comfier than pyjamas and I still wear them for slobbing about in now (they were about £10 from TK Maxx).
    I wear the same clothes all the time, I should probably accessorise better!

  2. Maybe you should make a point of picking out an item of clothing that you rarely wear, and then build an outfit around that?

    As for the bump, my pregnant friends live in leggings and oversized jumpers! 🙂 When at work they wear jersey dresses… I am a strong believer in the power of the frock – there isn’t a more valuable item in a girl’s wardrobe if you get the right one because you can dress it up/down. AND it works out cheaper compared to buying separates.

    It’s one of my 100 things list this year to get more wear out of my wardrobe. I made good headway on this last year but can do better! 🙂

    x

  3. whatshappeningatmyhouse

    Funnily enough, I’ve been thinking along the lines of doing some sort of challenge type thing on my blog based around wearing some of the things in my wardrobe that I never wear. Great minds, and all that.

  4. I think the old adage ‘out of sight, out of mind’ applies when it comes to clothes. Something that’s stuffed at the back of the cupboard or is languishing in the ironing basket will quite easily slip from the mind I think!

    What I often do, aside from seasonally rotating my clothes, is to rotate what’s actually hanging in my wardrobe at any given time. It can be as simple as taking something from the back and putting it at the front, or when I go to put something away, hanging it in a different place. I’ve found that this can often give birth to new outfits – sometimes I don’t realise that two pieces match each other perfectly until I see them hanging side by side. I think they call this visual merchandising!

  5. thisthriftedlife

    I have a bad problem with not rotating my clothing and then wearing the same thing over and over again. And then the few pieces I love wear out really quickly! If I *never* reach for an item, I get rid of it. But there are still plenty of items I like and simply don’t get enough use out of. I also find that I rotate less in the winter–it’s so cold in the house that I just reach for something basic and fast. In the summer, I stand around for a few extra minutes and actually think about what I might want to wear that day.

  6. Pingback: Wardrobe inspiration « Shoestring Alley

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

