Gift tags

I’ve been hanging on to old interiors magazines because I liked some of the pictures inside and didn’t want to just throw them away. With the recent spate of birthdays I realised that while I always have cards, wrapping paper and ribbon I never seem to have any gift tags. Thus I spent a couple of hours getting busy with a pile of old magazines, some scissors, a hole punch, pritt stick and a sheet of black card which had been knocking around for a while…

I ended up making about 30 so I should be covered for birthdays for quite a long time!

We’ve been trying to get on with sorting out all of  the things I mentioned in my post a day or two ago. The plumber is booked for a visit next week and we’ve been speaking to various garages trying to get cars fixed/scrapped/bought. It looks like we’re in for another weekend of traipsing around instead of getting on with the house. We are still determined to get the painting in the bathroom finished before the end of the month. I bought a small tin of paint today in an effort to move things in the right direction (same colour as before – sage green) and I’m hoping that we manage to get this done in the next week or so. I also need to investigate the back of the cupboard under the stairs – I’m sure there is a tin of woodwork paint in there somewhere! Our plans for February are a bit more ambitious (in terms of the number of things that we want to get done) but there is just too much going on to think about it now. One thing at a time…

Categories: Frugal ideas, Make do | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Gift tags

  1. thisthriftedlife

    I love using pretty magazine pages to wrap up small gifts like cds or dvds. It’s a fun way of reusing!

  2. I love this idea!! For Christmas tags I usually use the cutout of the front of christmas cards but that always depends on the taste of my friends and family 🙂

  3. how about you paint the bathroom 1 ft square at a time? with a small brush so no spills. It means you can start and get it going without having to make a big deal of it? a small brush gives you more control. And it breaks it down into tiny achieveable lumps. I painted my whole bed room like this during bub’s naps and for an hour in the evening.

    just and idea – it worked for me.

  4. Frugal Trenches

    Absolutely beautiful! What a fab idea!!! I used to do such things, must find creative spirit again 🙂

  5. Chaotic Kerri

    Like Kat I use last years Xmas cards to make the following years tags but, that’s a great idea for birthday tags. Well done you!

  6. Pingback: Working out the cost of gifts | Shoestring Alley

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

