Over the moon

Don’t expect any sense out of me today. This morning we found out that we are having a girl! We are both over the moon and so excited. It’s all been feeling much more real as, yesterday, Husband got to feel a little kick for the first time. We’re going to have to sit down with the name book again and see if we can find anything we like – we haven’t had much luck so far. The sonographer reminded us that these things are never 100% accurate so we’ll still be trying to put together a short list of boys names too, just in case. Everything was fine on the scan and it was just amazing being able to see our little one bopping around on screen for nearly half an hour. I’m massively tempted to find out about those 3D scans. Being able to see your baby before it is born is seriously addictive. Anyway, I doubt I’ll get anything much done from the list this evening. I’m too busy grinning like an idiot and trying to get used to thinking of the baby as ‘she’ or, gulp, ‘my daughter’. Roll on summer…I can’t wait.

SPENDING JOURNAL

Pocket money: £9 for scan photos & £1.50 for car parking at hospital: Total £10.50

Categories: Baby | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Over the moon

  1. Paige

    How wonderful for you both! A little girl 🙂 Lets hope you can control yourself from overspending on cute, girlie clothes for her! Congratulations!! x

  2. Naomi

    Congratulations!! Glad all is well – am loving your blog. My little girl was born 18 weeks ago. I still can’t believe how perfectly beautiful she is 🙂 Hope you enjoy the coming weeks ’til you get to meet her.
    N 🙂

  3. apieceofwood

    Awww that’s fab….

  4. That’s lovely news! Isn’t it amazing seeing your baby on the monitor?
    My little girls name begins with K and her surname starts with C. I really liked Frances as a middle name but realised her initials would be KFC! Had to have a rethink!

    I tagged you at mine for a ‘My ten favourite free things’ meme if you fancy it 🙂

  5. Huge congratulations 🙂

  6. thisthriftedlife

    Congratulations!

  7. Whoop! Congrats hon! Big hugs.

    A friend of mine who’s expecting a little girl in a couple of months has just announced she’s thinking of calling her Xenia…. thankfully she emailled as I don’t have the pokerface required to disguise my WTF reaction. lol

    Thrilled for you and Mr Shoestring

    xx

  8. oh HOW EXCITING what are your favourite names? I keep fantasing about having a girl called Zoe – which is Greek and means LIFE. But I also love Esther which is Persian and means little star….. I know so few little girls it is odd. My wee boy has lots of friends whose names sound like something from WW1 Archie, Wilfred, Sidney, Ted, Mabel, Millicent…. Its hilarious really

  9. Congratulations to you both, a baby girl (try to resist too much pink!) xxx hope you are feeling ok and the kicks arent too painful xx

  10. Aw, that’s wonderful – many congratulations to you both. There are such lovely names for little girls – my favourites are Martha, Esther or Miriam – and such sweetly pretty little outfits for them too, and not all of them are pink!

  11. Aw, a girl!! That is wonderful news!!! I have been thinking of you a lot and am so thankful to hear you and the baby are doing well. 🙂

  12. Frugal Trenches

    Oh Oh Oh I’m sooooooooooooo happy for you!!!! A girl is fabulous!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

