Spending Journal: Jan 2nd

I’ve just posted part 5 of ‘Spend Less, Save More’ (see below) but I thought I should do a seperate post for my spending journal. Earlier today I returned my library books (just in time to avoid a fine!) and got another couple out. I also picked up a magazine on crochet. While I’m not big on the sewing stuff (at all) this is something I’ve thought about giving a go for a while. The magazine came with a DVD plus a few basic bits of equipment and it is on offer for just 99p. I doubt I’ll buy the next installments. If I can do it and like it then I’ll probably just borrow some crochet books from the library next time I go. Between the borrowed library books and the crochet set I really should be able to keep myself entertained on a shoestring!

I also did a food shop. Co-op was bedlam but I got everything I needed except for some cooking apples which I can get later in the week. Once it was all on the conveyor belt I balked slightly at the sheer amount of things I had picked up and was convinced I was about to start the new year by going over my £35 weekly budget. However, I actually came under!

I quite often get asked how I managed to shop for so little. It really is all in the planning and I try to make sure I incorporate everything that needs to be used up. Rather than posting meal plans I thought I’d just mention what I’m making most days to give an idea. It wouldn’t suit everyone I’m sure! This afternoon I will be making a big pot of carrot and corriander soup (see ‘Shoestring Food’ page if you fancy the recipe). I will be using up an almost full bag of carrots that I bought at the beginning of the week. Soup is such a great way to use up veg and is also really healthy – I’m trying to be extra good at the moment. I’ll be making up enough for Husband and I to have for lunch both today and tomorrow. I also have quite a lot of potatoes that need to be used up so I’ve decided to make up some home-made ready meals to go in the freezer. I’ve bought extra ingredients so I can make four portions of sausage casserole with mash. I bought 12 sausages but I’ll only need to use 8 so the other 4 can go in the freezer for another day. Due to feeling fairly rubbish I haven’t been doing much cooking for the freezer recently and I want to get back in the habit of making at least one batch a week. It really helps on those evenings when you just can’t be bothered!

We’ve had a few crazy days so we’re having a quiet night in tonight with a DVD that arrived from LoveFilm. I’ve taken some meat out of the freezer for dinner. Perhaps one of the reasons that we spend a smallish amount on food is that I’m not a huge meat eater. I’m having one lamb chop – Husband it having two. This means the pack of six chops will last us for two meals. Tonight we’ll be having lamb chops, mint gravy, roast potatoes, roast parsnip, broccoli and spinach followed by fruit and yoghurt. I made a batch of flapjack to take to a friends house and there are a few bits left over so I expect we’ll be having some of those as well!

SPENDING JOURNAL

Food: £29.36

Pocket money: 99p for crochet magazine/kit

Categories: Ramblings | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Spending Journal: Jan 2nd

  1. apieceofwood

    I bought that exact same mag! Youtube is also good for tutorials on crochet!

  2. mo

    crochet is addictive. great food budget. I spent £54 – knocked down to £36 from the nectar points I had. Most from EDF reducing my energy consumption. Brilliant. anyways happy new year

  3. thefrenchchick

    There are loads of web based video tutorials on crochet and lots of free patterns too. Enjoy the new hobby 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

