Sale Shopping

There seems to be quite a lot of debate about whether shopping in sales is a good idea or not. Some argue that it isn’t a good idea because all you are buying are left over items that no-one else wanted. Others argue that they will only buy during sales because it isn’t worth buying things at full price when you can wait a little while and get a good discount. I can see both sides of it. The main reason I tend to stay away is that I can’t stand the madness – trying to find parking, being jostled along pavements, not being able to get to various displays and then getting elbowed as soon as you get near! However, Shoestring lass that I am, I do like a sales bargain.

This morning, from the comfort of my own home, I ordered some things from the Next sale. I managed to get a pair of maternity jeans for £10, a half price maternity top (that will be nice in Spring) and a half price beanie hat since mine seems to have vanished and my ears keep getting cold. If they turn out to be okay I shall be very pleased as there are some genuine bargains in there. I mean, really, what is the point of buying maternity jeans at full price when you can get them on sale? Jeans are jeans are jeans. If you find a cut/colour that you’re happy with, they don’t change much from season to season. The maternity top looks very light and has 3/4 length sleeves so will be good for when I’m actually big enough to need it as it won’t be so cold by then. I still don’t need any special maternity clothes yet. Many folk have told me that their baby bumps suddenly got much bigger at around the 20 week mark. I still look like I’ve merely eaten a large roast dinner. Maybe followed by a big pudding. I haven’t had to put the belly band into service yet but I reckon I’ve only got a week or two left before I’ll have to.

As for other sale shopping…I was given some money for Christmas by my lovely Gran. Rather than buy something to have in time for Christmas Day I decided to hang on to it and see what I could get in the sales. For the past year I’ve been hankering after a new pair of heeled leather boots. Mine all seem to have decided to start looking distinctly tatty at the same time. I’m going to try to brave the crowds and see what I can get. Buying things like leather boots on sale always seems like a good idea to me as, if they are half price, there tends to be a massive saving. The only trouble is, my tolerance for any kind of clothes shopping is low at the best of times. During the January sales I only seem to be able to manage about half an hour, maybe 45 minutes at a push. I’ll do my best!

I’ll also be looking out for Christmas cards and wrapping paper. And a few little bits and pieces to go in my gift boxes. I’m going to be on my lowest budget ever this year (due to the huge cut in pay combined with maternity leave). I’m not complaining. I’ve got a job (when many do not) and I’m having my much longed for baby so I consider myself to also be in line for an amazing year. However, money will be tighter than usual which means I am going to have to be more organised with my spending than ever. Hence I will be making a bigger effort than ever to get some things now while a) I have some pennies to spend, b) things are available at a discount and c) leaving the house doesn’t require buggies/changing bags/general host of skills worthy of the Krypton Factor…

Categories: Ramblings | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sale Shopping

  1. apieceofwood

    I too surfed the virtual shelves and made 2 purchases with a gift voucher given for Xmas…

  2. I went to the Next Sale today and it was pretty empty!! I managed to get some fab tops for £8 each and James got a few jumpers that he liked!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

