Pre-Christmas sort out

The band had a gig last night and we managed to see lots of friends into the bargain which was great. Since Husband is working today and the roads are too icy to contemplate the supermarket I’ve decided to have a day at home sorting things out. I always enjoy Christmas more when I’m not surrounded by things I ought to have done! I’m taking things at a fairly leisurely pace (half hour sit down with a cuppa for every hour spent ‘doing’) but I’ve got through quite a lot. Here’s what on the agenda for today:

  • A really good tidy up. As in not just making neat piles of things but actually putting everything away and giving everything a good clean
  • Washing and ironing
  • Sorting Christmas presents into bags to be distributed over the next few days
  • Making a shopping list for groceries and trying to work out what I want to cook/bake for various gatherings
  • Doing my online banking and working out how much I have left until the end of the month

I still don’t know exactly where I stand regarding work and money but I’m not too stressed about it. It does seem that I will be in work one way or another but exactly what money I’ll get from where (and when) is still a bit up in the air. This is good enough for me. I’m just going to be patient until it is all sorted out. Until then, I’m going to stick to my budget and accept that I can’t make any major financial plans for a month or so.

Spending the first day of the Christmas hols cleaning and sorting might not seem very festive. For me, I find that if everything at home is sorted out and organised it is much easier to keep on top of. If it is easy to keep on top of, then I have more time to enjoy doing other things. Our entrance hall is going to be looking like a bit of a war zone over the next week or so. Not only will we be looking after all of the band equipment but we’re also stacking up things that need to be taken to the dump. This is fine really. I’m just grateful that we have somewhere to put it all that keeps the main rooms clear!

Tea break thus over, I’m going to get on and tackle this cleaning so I can get on with the rest of the things on my list!

Categories: Getting organised | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

