The best laid plans

My meal plans have gone a bit, well, off-plan. Remember I said I was making some batches of lasagne and bolognese sauce to go in the freezer? Turns out I really can’t stomach either anymore. Ah, the unpredictable turns of pregnancy. I found the lasagne so revolting that I couldn’t bring myself to make the bolognese sauce. The remaining mince beef has gone into the freezer for future use. Trying to eat healthily is really tricky when your usual staples don’t want to stay down. Here’s a list of things that are literally turning my stomach at the moment:

  • any kind of meat though, in particular, mince beef or lamb. Chicken seems to be okay-ish, though only in really small quantities and if it is chopped up into tiny chunks
  • fish
  • anything cooked in tomato sauce. Pasta, meat – anything. As I discovered when we went out for our anniversary dinner and I couldn’t eat my main course…
  • a lot of cooked vegetables, though roast potatoes and parsnips still seem to be fine
  • soup – something to do with the texture? Or the smell?

The only things that seem to be consistently okay are:

  • dairy products like cheese, milk and yoghurt. Though not melted cheese. Bleurgh.
  • bread
  • fruit
  • cucumber
  • Crisps, cake and biscuits, ie stuff you should only have as an occasional treat
  • cereal and museli

I’m told this is nothing to worry about, to just eat what I can and to make sure I’m taking my vitamins. Even so, this is making sticking to a meal plan really tricky! The only kind of hot foods that I don’t seem to have gone off are puddings (like apple crumble) and, er, toast. And roast spuds. Oh what I would do for a big chunk of brie. Or a dippy egg. Neither of which I am supposed to have.

I’m going to have to go back to the drawing board for next weeks shop. I’m not holding out much hope for stocking my freezer back up with home-made ready meals at this rate! Unless, that is, anyone has any great recipes involving cheddar cheese, cucumber and roasted veg…

Categories: Baby | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “The best laid plans

  1. It’s mad what you got off or crave when you are pregnant. I couldn’t stomach chicken but craved beef monster munch and jaffa cakes – very healthy!
    Like you I missed runny eggs and brie, but it’s only for a few months 🙂

    • shoestringalley

      Yes, it’s only a few months. That’s why it doesn’t bother me too much – I know it is only temporary! Still. Never thought I’d see the day I’d actually prefer a glass of water to a cup of tea… x

  2. This is the most annoying thing about pregnancy, my cravings were as follows:- child 1, mash potato (which I used to eat out of the saucepan and follow it with a packet of butterscotch Angel Delight. child 2 – frozen packets of beef stew (once cried when hubby wouldn’t walk to supermarket in rain to get me one, so went myself! child 3 – nothing in particular, child 4 – raw carrots, smoked mackeral and custard tarts!

    • shoestringalley

      Ah, this made me laugh! Isn’t it funny how each pregnancy can be different, even for the same woman? One of my friends craved junk food during her first pregnancy yet for the second all she craved were watermelons.

  3. Its so weird how it is so different for everyone. Mainly I craved food – as eating seemed to make me feel less sick. But I could not NOT eat lamb of any kind. Tea needed sugar to make it palatable. And coffee was definately a no no. I craved very very spicy foods and pickles. In fact lime pickle really hit the mark. And Nandos chicken. I made my husband feel like a delicate flower the way I could put that back!

    • shoestringalley

      Yup – eating something, anything, has mainly been the key to keeping nausea at bay. Weirdly, these food aversions didn’t kick until the second trimester – just when I thought I’d go back to ‘normal’.
      I seem to be fine with coffee (one real one in the morning, then decaff) but I have really lost my taste for tea. Redbush and Earl Grey seem to be okay but the regular stuff is just bleurgh these days.
      Interesting that you mentioned pickles. Someone else told me they went through a real pickle phase – anything with vinegar. I had a week long run on salt and vinegar crisps which aren’t usually my thing!

  4. thefrenchchick

    Just out of curiosity, why no brie? I can understand the runny egg & risk of salmonella to the baby. But I thought cheeses were all fine to eat during pregnancy.

    I’ll check my vegetarian cookbooks to see if I can come up with something for you. Can’t promise freezable, but I’ll try.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

