Frugal food watch!

This month I’m really making an effort to keep an eye on the pennies. We’ve got some nice festive gatherings coming up which we want to enjoy and I would like to get a few extra treats in for Christmas week.

Since we are already paying the minimum/best prices currently possible on utilities etc, the obvious areas for me to try and watch are: general spending money (I budget ‘pocket’ money for myself for going out and buying non-food items), food shopping and petrol. This month I am only using my debit card (though I will try to keep around £5-£10 cash on me just in case) and am then recording every purchase in a ‘spending journal’ sheet in my filofax. I’ve just done the weekly shop and it came in at a fantastic £24.04. Using a combination of what I already had and what I’ve bought this evening, this is my plan for the week:

  • Tonight: Covent Garden soup (bought yesterday on offer at £1) followed by bread and butter pudding (using a reduced loaf bought yesterday for 36p).
  • Saturday: Cereal/Beans on toast/ Lasagne and veg
  • Sunday: Cereal/packed lunch (out at band practice) of sandwiches and fruit/ roast chicken thighs, potatoes and parsnips with carrots and broccoli
  • Monday: Cereal/packed lunch (sandwiches, fruit and yoghurt)/Stir fry veg with noodles and soy sauce
  • Tuesday: Breakfast and lunch as above / Jacket potatoes with beans and cheese followed by apple crumble
  • Wednesday: Breakfast & lunch as above / Evening meal at parents 🙂 Later in the evening I will use up most of the remaining vegetables to make some soup
  • Thursday: Cereal/Vegetable soup, bread and fruit/ Beef stew (from freezer) with mashed potato
  • Friday: Breakfast and lunch as above / Dinner at a friends (will buy/make something on the day to take along)

I’m kind of ‘off’ a lot of cooked vegetables at the moment (something to do with the texture makes me feel nauseous) so I’m making up for it by eating lots of fruit. Tomorrow I will be making a batch of lasagne and a batch of bolognese sauce for the freezer. On Sunday I’ll be using up the chicken that I bought 6 weeks ago and put in the freezer. I might even see if I can squeeze a bit of baking in this weekend.

I always spend more on food when I’m not organised. When I start making a plan for the week I check my diary to see when we are going to be in or out. For example, I know we are going to be out for most of the day on Sunday so I have planned for packed lunches. This means we won’t be tempted to go to the shops when we get hungry! I also know that Mum and Dad will be providing us with a meal on Wednesday so I don’t need to plan anything for that evening. However, I also know that there will be some vegetables left over that might be going past their best by mid-week, hence planning to make some soup. I always try to keep to my plan though, invariably, life gets in the way from time to time. Every now and then it all goes wrong and I end up buying something extra. As it is important to watch my spending at the moment I am going to try to be extra careful!

Categories: Budgeting, Frugal food | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

