A great whopper of a shop

I’ve just gone and done a whopping great shop waaaaaayyy over my budget. But it had to be done.

I haven’t been to Tesco for a couple of months to do my usual big monthly shop and my store cupboard has been running dry. And, as I haven’t been feeling too hot, I haven’t been doing my big cook-ups where I make lots of things to go in the freezer either. This has basically resulted in Husband and I scrabbling around trying to find things to fashion into meals and they haven’t been exactly healthy ones. I was trying to make a meal plan for the week, planning to go to the local Co-op and eyeing up my £30 budget when Husband offered to drive to Tesco. It came to around £75 which was more than twice what I had originally planned to spend but, just this once, I think it was worth it. My store cupboard is now re-stocked with everything from flour to cous cous and I have bought so much fruit that I’ve had to get two extra bowls out to accomodate it all. And lots of veg. And some vitamins. And a few good BOGOF’s on things like pasta sauces for those evening when we really can’t be bothered. Oh, and they were doing that offer of three trays of meat for £10. I’ve bought some chicken (as I already had a jar of korma sauce at home), some lamb steaks (which we’ll have tonight) and 6 pork chops. I’ll divide the pork into two portions of three for the freezer. I never like to eat much meat in one go, a small portion is always enough for me,  so I can cook one for me and two for Husband at a time. I also got some beef to make a stew and some sausages because I haven’t had toad-in-the-hole for ages.

I don’t deliberately go and blow my own budget very often. However, this week it was a toss up between staying in budget and not eating very healthily or buying lots of fresh goodies and rebuilding my supplies. I’m borrowing the extra £45 from my emergency fund as I know I can put it back next week when I get paid. It just seemed daft to wait.

The best thing about all of it is that I get to have roast parsnips tonight – one of my favourite things in the world. We went to the cinema last night to see ‘New Moon’. It has been on my calendar since they announced the release date months ago. So tonight we’re staying in and cooking a giant meal with lots of veg to be followed by a big cream cake (special weekend treat) and watching the next installment of 24 which arrived by post from Lovefilm this morning. It’s not very rock and roll, but frankly I can’t think of anything I’d ratehr be doing on a wet and windy night in November. Hope you all have a good one too!

Categories: Frugal food | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “A great whopper of a shop

  1. if you blew your budget and totally restocked on £75 you are doing really well as far as I can see. Especially with buying vitamins and meat and bogofs.

  2. I love parsnips too!

  3. I hate those big shops too because it makes you feel like you’re spending loads….but it averages out in the end.

    We just did an eye-watering Tescos online £90 shop. We do one maybe every four months for big bags of pasta, loo roll, washing powder, (value) OJ….all the heavy stuff I hate to cart home. 🙂

    x

  4. whatshappeningatmyhouse

    You did well to restock on £75 – go you! I

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

