My little blog

I have no idea how many hits the average blog gets and I very rarely check the Shoestring Alley stats. However, I had a peek just now and discovered that I have passed 20,000 views! How exciting! I know a few of you through your own blogs, which I love reading and catching up on. The other visitors – who knows? All I can say is thank you very much to all of those people who have stopped by, particularly those of you who have left a comment or two and inspired me, given me advice, comiserated with me and laughed along with my trials and tribulations.

I started this blog on the 1st of March having decided to take a different approach to my finances and, to some extent, my lifestyle. It had done its job very well in keeping me focused on what I am trying to achieve. I doubt I would have stuck at it and kept putting the effort in without knowing I had to report back here, even just to myself. Naturally I’m going to be carrying on. I suspect the next year is going to throw some new challenges my way, down here on Shoestring Alley. Regardless, my objectives will remain much the same, namely:

  • Managing my finances to keep out of debt and put some money aside for the future
  • Keeping track of of my spending on everything from the weekly food shop to getting the best prices for things like utility bills
  • Learning more about cooking so I can be both frugal and healthy while still enjoying my food (and believe me, I do enjoy it!)
  • Getting my home in order; decluttered, simplified and finished
  • Finding out more about great things to do for free or very little cost
  • Learning about making and re-using and being less wasteful with my own resources
  • Adapting my life into a more simplified version of its old self

Once again, a big thank you to everyone that visits me here – you keep me motivated!

Categories: Goals | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “My little blog

  1. lovely to see your aims and goals out there again. Love that you have such a concise list!! and am with you on ALL of them! Mine are the same (the only extra being my obsession with creating) a career

  2. I often pop by to see what you are up to!
    Keep up the good work x

  3. thisthriftedlife

    Congrats!

  4. I have been with you since the start and have no intention of going anywhere xx

  5. shoestringalley

    Ah, thanks everyone! x

  6. You should do it. I live in another country with other prices. But I like to read your blog/

  7. Wee Wendy

    I’m one of your many lurkers! I’m one of the 20,000! I feel so special! Have been following you for a few months and just love your blog. I’m on a similar journey to you and find your story very inspiring. And I’m so looking forward to the next chapter: your lovely new bundle of a baby, how exciting! Keep up the good work and I’ll keep reading! Wendy.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

