Getting organised (again)

I’m feeling quite pleased with myself because I’ve actually managed to get a few niggling things done today. I’ve shuffled some money around and my emergency fund is now standing at a respectable £1500. I’m aiming to get this to a minimum or £2000 but I’d really like £3000. Obviously I’m going to carry on saving afterwards but this is my current project. Another part of the re-jigging has been completing my Christmas fund. I’ve already bought lots of small presents for friends but I still have one or two to buy for and I have barely scratched the surface of buying for Husband or family. I have £255 for the remaining presents, wrapping paper and any other festive things that might tickle my fancy. Now I’ve just got to get on and get stuff.

I’ve also been ignoring some Next deliveries for a couple of weeks and this evening I finally got around to sorting them out and trying things on. The clothes I bought for some friends children are just what I was looking for. I also ordered myself a bag. I’ve been after a new one for a while. I don’t really need it so I am being fussy. As it is not exactly what I want I have decided to send it back and keep looking. One of the things I find most difficult about the whole shoestring thing is that I can get a bit bored. I am used to spending less now, but it gets a bit dull doing the same things, wearing the same clothes and so on. I think the trick is learning when a little spend is actually a good idea. For example, before we went on holiday I booked us a table at Jamie Oliver’s restaurant in Cornwall. And it was expensive compared to the sort of places we’d usually go. However, the restaurant was amazing and it was probably the best meal I’ve ever had. I don’t regret a penny of it – it was just what we needed at the time. 

Anyway, back to my Next stuff. I also ordered some new clothes. The band has got a couple of gigs coming up and I really am out of clothes to wear that I haven’t worn a hundred times. Plus, with Christmas coming up, it’s always nice to have something new to wear. I’ve done pretty well. I ordered a pair of black skinny jeans (I look appalling in dresses so they aren’t really an option) and a black lace top. The total cost of my new outfit? £44. I am very pleased. I’d like a new pair of earrings to go with them so I might go into town at the weekend and get some and tackle a bit of Christmas shopping while I’m at it. Actually, what I’d really like is a new pair of heeled boots. I last bought a pair two or three years ago and they look liek they have been worn to death – which they have. However, I’ve decided to wait until the January sales. I’m not set on a particular pair or style so I can go into it with an open mind and see what bargains there are to be had!

Now I just need to go and package that bag up and take it to the Post Office…

Categories: Getting organised, Saving | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Getting organised (again)

  1. whatshappeningatmyhouse

    We went to Jamie Oliver’s place in Cornwall for lunch a couple of years ago – it’s fab, isn’t it? Watergate Bay is just beautiful. I’ve got some great photos from our walk along the beach in the December sunshine afterwards.

  2. A big thing on my TO DO list is Chrimbo shopping. I enjoy it for people who are easy to buy for, but it’s a nightmare for those who aren’t (yes Dad, I’m talking about you.) I think I’m going to be relying heavily on the Oxfam Unwrapped alpaca again!

    xx

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

