Lazy dinner, home-made soup and Mrs Rochester the Second

010

I made some Pea and Leek soup yesterday. I made enough to last me 3 days at work. Since I already had a bag of frozen peas, some dried mint and a bottle of olive oil, the only ingredients I had to buy were 3 leeks – very good on the budget! Here’s the recipe if you fancy a go:

PEA & LEEK SOUP

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon oil (I use olve oil for pretty much everything)
  • 3 sliced leeks
  • 175g frozen peas
  • 850ml chicken or vegetable stock
  • 2 teaspoons dried mint (obviously fresh mint is great though)

Instructions

  • Heat the oil in a saucepan and saute the leeks on a lowish heat, stirring frequently until they are beginning to go translucent and a little golden around the edges (about 5 – 10 minutes).
  • Add the peas, stir, then add the stock and the mint (if you are using fresh mint then wait to add it until you have nearly finished simemring).
  • Pop the saucepan lid on, bring to the boil and then simmer for 15 minutes.
  • Use a hand-held blender or food processor to blend coarsely.

I popped a bit of ham in at the end because, well, why not? However, I didn’t put ham in the main batch because soups containing meat have a shorter shelf life.

This evening I’m making a bit of a lazy dinner. Lazy because, firstly, the sauce (korma) is coming out of a jar. I’ll be adding chicken, cauliflower and green beans. There should be enough that I can freeze two extra portions which will save me an evenings cooking next week sometime (also, one less meal to budget for next week). This will be a lazy dinner, secondly, because I’m going to use cous cous instead of rice. I like rice but I am pooped and cous cous barely needs any attention whatsoever.

Since I’m not cooking for an hour or so I’m going to curl up on the sofa with a good book. Yesterday I realised the time had come for my annual re-reading of Jane Eyre. Must be all the drizzle, fog and dark evenings…

Categories: Book love, Frugal food, Recipes | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Lazy dinner, home-made soup and Mrs Rochester the Second

  1. thefrenchchick

    The soup looks lovely. Happy hibernation to you. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

  2. Chaotic Kerri

    Yum Yum Yum

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

