Projects 1,2 & 3 of 50: Off to a good start!

I got started yesterday with the ’50 Home Improvements’ project by organising a funny little corner we have…

003

…halfway up the stairs. This alcove is a magnet for dust and clutter. All kinds of odds and ends seem to end up here. I often seem to sling things in this corner that need to go upstairs and then forget about them. I’ve been ignoring it for a while. I threw out a lot of old videos (we don’t have a video player anymore so most of them are fairly pointless) and gave the whole area a good clean. Then I neatly stashed some of our DVDs into the storage boxes, moved all of the bits and bobs to the top shelf to make room for some of my vast collection of books. I think the woodwork needs to be repainted but that will be a project for another day. At some point I’m going to re-organise my entire book collection and I might relocate my ‘to read’ shelf to this alcove.

Next up, I had a go at my make-up collection again. Although I had a good clear out earlier this year I still had far too much and some of it was a bit old – a cull was in order. I have a large quantity of eyeshadow but never seem to have it all to hand so I bought this rather lovely box…

004

…for the princely sum of £3 (Paperchase). It is much easier to see what I’ve got, having my collection in a box rather than a make-up bag.

Today I decided to tackle the carpet on the stairs, of which we have two flights. They are very narrow, twisting and difficult to hoover properly. However, I tackled both flights with the smallest attachment so I could get right into the corners. They have become quite marked – something had got spilt on one and a friend’s dog kindly peed on, not one, but three stairs. Even though we tried to clean it up once we realised what had happened (after they had left and it had almost dried) there were still marks. I’ve mixed a very tiny amount of clothes wash  with some warm water and have given all of the marks a good scrub with a clean cloth. The carpet is only two years old so I’m hoping that will have done the trick. I’ll have to wait until it dries to be sure…

Categories: Decluttering, home improvements | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Projects 1,2 & 3 of 50: Off to a good start!

  1. You and me seem to be doing exactly the same things, but in different houses! 😉

    I too got rid of some video’s – why keep when we haven’t had a video for about 4 years?

  2. whatshappeningatmyhouse

    Love your new Paperchase box – I want one!

  3. Haha, your comment about the videos hit a raw nerve with me. My other half has LOADS of videos still, even though we don’t have a video player any more. I keep trying to bin them but he gets cross because he can’t seem to let go. They drive me mad! I might just sneak them off to the charity shoppe one day and then feign ignorance when he asks where they’ve all gone. Pixies took them, naturally!

    Anyways, you’ve motivated me to have a go at our “magical mystery drawer” – does everyone have one of these? a drawer that houses an infinite number of pens, rubber bands, flat batteries, weird wires, keys that we can’t remember what they’re for etc etc….

    K x

  4. I like storing my makeup in big boxes like that too- does make everything a lot easier to find and also move around if the light is bad!

    Good luck with the rest of your projects 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

